On the Wolves Logo


On the Wolves

Updating you year-round on the Timberwolves

Wolves waive veteran Jordan Hill

As expected, the Wolves waived veteran forward Jordan Hill in another move to clear salary-cap space before the NBA's free-agency period starts at 11 p.m. Central time.

The Wolves had a team option on Hill's $4.1 million salary for this coming season, the second year of a two-year deal he signed last summer.

Hill appeared in just seven games last season, made $4 million and played just 47 total minuets.

He also averaged 1.7 points and 2.0 rebounds.

Eagan youth coach to be honored at tonight's NBA awards show

The NBA will present tonight in New York City its first Awards Show and Eagan's Carrie Berran will be presented the inaugural Jr. NBA Coach of the Year award as part of it.

That junior coach award now will be given annually to a youth basketball coach who "makes a positive impact on children by demonstrating outstanding integrity, character and leadership."

Nominated by the Wolves, Berran has been a youth coach and administrator in the Eagan Athletic Association for the past decade.  She was selected by a panel of judges that incldued former NBA player Dell Curry, former WNBA player Jennifer Azzi and TNT broadcaster Ernie Johnson.

The NBA will present its postseason awards -- MVP, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, Most Improved, etc. -- in a television awards show for the first time. Until now, the league announced winners one by one in the days after the regular season ended.

TNT will carry the show starting at 8 tonight.

In advance of it, the NBA today announced its All-Defensive and All-Rookie teams.

Golden State's Draymond Green, San Antonio's Kawhi Leonard, Utah's Rudy Gobert, L.A. Clipper Chris Paul and Houston's Patrick Beverley comprise the first all-defensive team and Memphis' Tony Allen, San Antonio's Danny Green, New Orleans' Anthony Davis, Oklahoma City's Andre Roberson and Milwaukee's Giannis Antetokounmpo make up the second team.

New Wolf Jimmy Butler got 18 votes for second team, Ricky Rubio got 3 and Karl-Anthony Towns got two points from a first-team vote.

Milwaukee's Malcolm Brogdon and Philadelphia's Dario Saric were unianmous selections to a first team that also includes Philly's Joel Embiid, Sacramento's Buddy Hield and New York's Willy Hernangomez.

Former Wolves point guard Kris Dunn received five votes but didn't make the second team that features Denver's Jamal Murray, Boston's Jaylen Brown, Phoenix's Marquese Chriss, the L.A. Lakers' Brandon Ingram and Dallas' Yogi Ferrell.

Tonight's show is the start of a week in which the Wolves will introduce first-round pick Justin Patton on Tuesday, newly acquired All Star Jimmy Butler on Thursday or Wednesday and on Friday at 11 p.m. the league's annual free-agency period begins.

NBA Scoreboard

No NBA games today

Poll: What are the Twins chances of making the playoffs?

See more polls