Previous Page 2 of 3 Next

Continued: NHL Insider: Selecting the regular-season award winners

  • Article by: MICHAEL RUSSO , Star Tribune
  • Last update: April 13, 2014 - 8:55 AM

Best defensive forward, voted on by the PHWA.

You don’t get a true appreciation of Patrice Bergeron unless you watch him every day. He doesn’t have a weakness. Offensively, defensively, positionally, stick work, work ethic and faceoffs, the guy is as complete a player as there is the NHL. He was Boston’s second-leading scorer and had a plus-minus near 40.

Runners-up: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles; Jonathan Toews, Chicago; David Backes, St. Louis; Ryan O’Reilly, Colorado.

Lady Byng Trophy

Most gentlemanly, voted on by the PHWA.

Jared Spurgeon, the Wild’s second-leading-scoring defenseman, logs 22 minutes, 41 seconds a game, leads the team with a plus-16 and has accumulated 14 penalty minutes in 66 games. He has a ridiculous 26 penalty minutes in 228 games. To play as many minutes as he does in a top-two or top-four role and rarely take obstruction penalties shows how smart and how steady he is.

Runners-up: Matt Duchene, Colorado; Patrick Kane, Chicago; Patrick Marleau, San Jose; Brian Campbell, Florida.

Vezina Trophy

Best goalie, voted on by general managers.

Semyon Varlamov turned his 11-21-3 record last season into 41-14-6 this year, breaking Patrick Roy’s Avalanche team record for victories. In a tough conference and hellacious division, he has a 2.41 goals-against average and .927 save percentage. He’s also playing behind a blue line that many feel is the team’s weakness.

Runners-up: Tuukka Rask, Boston; Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay; Carey Price, Montreal; Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus.

Jack Adams Trophy

Coach of the Year, voted on by broadcasters.

There is tons of skill. Up front, the Avs are lethal. But this is still a team that was so bad last year and had such little defensive structure that it “earned” the right to draft MacKinnnon first overall. The Avs hit the 50-win mark in a division where no one felt they would challenge Chicago or St. Louis for the Central title. Like him or not, Patrick Roy has done a heck of a job in his rookie season.

  • related content

  • Jared Spurgeon

  • Penguins superstar Sidney Crosby ran away with the league scoring title this season. It’s the second of his career.

  • Nathan MacKinnon

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Chicago WSox - LP: Z. Duke 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: J. Soria 2
San Diego - WP: J. Shields 5 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: B. Schlitter 4
Philadelphia - LP: S. O Sullivan 2 FINAL
Washington - WP: M. Scherzer 7
Milwaukee - LP: J. Nelson 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 6
Atlanta - WP: C. Martin 8 FINAL
Toronto - LP: B. Cecil 7
Miami - LP: B. Hand 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 4
Baltimore - LP: B. Matusz 2 FINAL
Boston - WP: K. Uehara 3
NY Yankees - WP: D. Betances 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: K. Jepsen 4
LA Angels - WP: C. Ramos 6 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 3
Cleveland - LP: B. Shaw 2 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: B. Boyer 3
Oakland - LP: D. Otero 4 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: W. Davis 6
Cincinnati - LP: J. Cueto 1 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: M. Wacha 6
Colorado - LP: K. Kendrick 3 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: C. Kershaw 7
Texas - WP: Y. Gallardo 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: J. Happ 1
Arizona - WP: J. Collmenter 9 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: J. Peavy 0
Ottawa 2 FINAL(OT)
Montreal 3
NY Islanders 3 FINAL
Washington 4
Chicago 2 FINAL
Nashville 6
Calgary 1 FINAL
Vancouver 4
San Jose 0 FINAL
Red Bull New York 2
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who will be the Wild's MVP against St. Louis?

Weekly Question