Masterton Trophy in tow, Wild's Harding has big plans

  • Article by: MICHAEL RUSSO , Star Tribune
  • Updated: June 15, 2013 - 12:26 AM

The Wild’s backup goaltender is launching a new charity and vows that MS is not going to keep him from playing in the NHL.


Josh Harding stops a shot by Chicago Blackhawks' Patrick Kane during the second period of Game 1 of an NHL Stanley Cup playoff series

Photo: Jim Prisching, Associated Press

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


Josh Harding was humbled by being named the NHL’s 2013 recipient of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, and the Wild goaltender already is organizing ways to give back.

In conjunction with Friday’s announcement, Harding launched the website for Harding’s Hope ( — his new charity he hopes brings awareness to and benefits those afflicted with multiple sclerosis.

Harding’s life was turned upside down last fall when he was diagnosed with MS. But the 28-year-old refused to let the debilitating autoimmune disease end his hockey career.

“I just won an NHL award. It’s something that I never thought I’d do in my life ever. And it happened with MS,” Harding said. “I played five playoff games. I didn’t know if I’d ever play a playoff game. And that came with MS.

“I want people to believe that goals are possible. Just because you get the label of a disease doesn’t mean you’re not going to complete your goals. That’s what I hope ­people take out of this.”

Harding, drafted in the second round in 2002, is the first Wild player to ever win a voted-on, end-of-the-year NHL award. The Masterton is given annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to ice hockey. The trophy is named after former North Star Bill Masterton, who died in 1968 after an on-ice injury.

“There were some ups and downs,” Harding said. “Some days it would have been easy to throw in the towel. … But I’ve been playing hockey since I was 4. I’m not going to let something come in the way.”

Harding missed two months last season after complications from a medication to treat his MS. But he returned in April and wound up starting each game of the Wild’s first-round series with Chicago after Niklas Backstrom suffered a sports hernia minutes before Game 1.

“This is only the beginning of the story,” Harding said. “I’m not going to let this story end right now. … It’s a goal of mine to make sure people know that this isn’t just a one-time thing, and I got through the season. Next year, I’m expecting big things for myself.”

The major NHL awards will be revealed Saturday, including the Norris Trophy. While the Wild’s Ryan Suter is a finalist, Montreal’s P.K. Subban has won the hardware.

Going to Sweden

The Wild’s Jonas Brodin is one of 13 defensemen who have been invited to Sweden’s Olympic camp Aug. 12-14 in Stockholm. Paired with Suter, Brodin, 19, who won gold at the world junior championships in 2012, led all NHL rookies in average ice time (23 minutes, 12 seconds a game) last season.

While it’s not yet official that NHLers will partake in the 2014 Olympics in Sochi, an announcement should come soon.

Free-agent talks

The Wild has begun contract talks with Backstrom, a potential unrestricted free agent, and has had preliminary discussions with potential restricted free agents Cal Clutterbuck and Jared Spurgeon. It’s clear the club is in a standstill until it secures a No. 1 goaltender, whether that be re-signing Backstrom or potentially making a trade.

The Wild currently has about $7.6 million in cap space for next season.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Team Irvin 32 4th Qtr 3:10
Team Carter 28
Miami 96 FINAL
Chicago 84
Oklahoma City 98 FINAL
Cleveland 108
Dallas 106 FINAL
New Orleans 109
Indiana 106 FINAL
Orlando 99
LA Clippers 120 FINAL
Phoenix 100
Minnesota 100 FINAL
Atlanta 112
Detroit 110 FINAL
Toronto 114
Milwaukee 95 FINAL
San Antonio 101
Boston 111 FINAL
Golden State 114
Washington 117 FINAL
Denver 115
Houston 76 3rd Qtr 2:31
LA Lakers 53
Team Toews 17 FINAL
Team Foligno 12
South Florida 53 FINAL
Connecticut 66
Boston College 64 FINAL
Georgia Tech 62
Virginia 50 FINAL
Virginia Tech 47
Indiana 70 FINAL
Ohio State 82
Stony Brook 61 FINAL
Binghamton 54
Cincinnati 56 FINAL
UCF 46
Maine 70 FINAL
Hartford 61
Monmouth 64 FINAL
Manhattan 71
Fairfield 67 FINAL
Marist 73
Rowan 48 FINAL
Princeton 96
St Bonaventure 48 FINAL
Rhode Island 53
Duke 77 FINAL
St Johns 68
Saint Peters 69 FINAL
Siena 55
Drake 40 FINAL
Wichita State 74
Vermont 61 FINAL
UMass Lowell 50
Seton Hall 57 FINAL
Butler 77
South Alabama 55
Northern Iowa 54 FINAL
Illinois State 53
Louisville 80 FINAL
Pittsburgh 68
Albany 69
Niagara 64 FINAL
Iona 87
Notre Dame 81 FINAL
NC State 78
Belmont 63 FINAL
Tennessee St 55
Creighton 50 FINAL
Villanova 71
Northwestern 67 FINAL
Maryland 68
Washington 56 FINAL
Utah 77
Senior-North 34 FINAL
Senior-South 13
Seton Hall 99 FINAL
Georgetown 85
St Johns 69 FINAL
Villanova 81
Arkansas 58 FINAL
Florida 72
Maine 56 FINAL
Vanderbilt 55 FINAL
Alabama 52
Lafayette 60 FINAL
Lehigh 65
SMU 57
Utah 51 FINAL
Washington 63
James Madison 73 FINAL
Coll of Charleston 53
Delaware 56 FINAL
Drexel 61
Hofstra 56 FINAL
William & Mary 57
Hartford 58 FINAL
Albany 82
Binghamton 54 FINAL
Stony Brook 67
Towson 63 FINAL
UNC-Wilmington 71
Wake Forest 80 FINAL
(17) Florida State 110
Georgia Tech 68 FINAL
Virginia 62
(22) Georgia 51 FINAL
(5) Tennessee 59
Drake 79 FINAL
Evansville 62
Iona 80 FINAL
Canisius 62
Fairfield 33 FINAL
Monmouth 59
Northwestern 75 FINAL
Penn State 76
Wisconsin 71 FINAL
Michigan State 77
Ohio State 79 FINAL
Purdue 71
Northern Iowa 57 FINAL
Indiana State 55
Butler 58 FINAL
Xavier 54
Creighton 93 FINAL
Marquette 75
Providence 42 FINAL
DePaul 90
Northeastern 77 FINAL
Elon 80
(2) Connecticut 96 FINAL
Cincinnati 31
Oregon 78 FINAL
Arizona 81
Bradley 46 FINAL
Loyola-Chicago 45
NC State 49 FINAL
(23) Syracuse 66
(7) Maryland 84 FINAL
Indiana 74
Illinois State 35 FINAL
Missouri State 58
Colorado 68 FINAL
Washington St 73
Tulane 45 FINAL
South Florida 64
(14) Kentucky 83 FINAL
Missouri 69
(9) Oregon State 68 FINAL
(13) Arizona State 57
Vermont 63 FINAL
UMass Lowell 72
Iowa State 58 FINAL
(8) Texas 57
Southern Ill 61 FINAL
Wichita State 80
(15) Duke 74 FINAL
(12) North Carolina 67
Miami-Florida 55 FINAL
(4) Louisville 68
(21) Minnesota 61 FINAL
(25) Rutgers 66
California 72 FINAL
(11) Stanford 71 FINAL
USC 60
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Does a Stadium Series outdoor Wild game get you excited?

Weekly Question