Matt Vensel is in his first year at the Star Tribune after covering the Ravens for the Baltimore Sun for six years. He is a Pittsburgh native and a Penn State grad. Follow him at @mattvensel.

Mark Craig has covered the NFL for 23 years, and the Vikings since 2003 for the Star Tribune. He is one of 44 Pro Football Hall of Fame selectors. Follow him at @markcraignfl.

Master Tesfatsion is the Star Tribune’s digital Vikings writer. He is a 2013 graduate of Arizona State and worked for before arriving in Minneapolis. Follow him at @masterstrib.

Suggs beats out Jared Allen for NFL Defensive Player of the Year

Posted by: Mark Craig under Vikings, AFC, NFC, Jared Allen Updated: February 4, 2012 - 6:41 PM

Ravens outside linebacker Terrell Suggs, whose team advanced to the AFC Championship game, won Associated Press NFL Defensive Player of the Year, beating Vikings defensive end Jared Allen, whose team tied a franchise record with 13 losses.

Suggs earned 21 of the 50 votes by NFL writers. Allen had 14 votes, including the Star Tribune's.

Allen's 22 sacks broke the team record and came within 1/2 a sack of Michael Strahan's league record. He also had four forced fumbles, an interception and a safety.

Suggs had 14 sacks, seven forced fumbles and two interceptions.

Suggs certainly is deserving. But so was Allen, which is saying something considering his team's 3-13 record.

Allen was trying to become just the sixth player to win the award on a team with a losing record. Cortez Kennedy, who was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame earlier today, won the award on a 2-14 Seahawks team in 1992.




Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters