Matt Vensel is in his first year at the Star Tribune after covering the Ravens for the Baltimore Sun for six years. He is a Pittsburgh native and a Penn State grad. Follow him at @mattvensel.

Mark Craig has covered the NFL for 23 years, and the Vikings since 2003 for the Star Tribune. He is one of 44 Pro Football Hall of Fame selectors. Follow him at @markcraignfl.

Master Tesfatsion is the Star Tribune’s digital Vikings writer. He is a 2013 graduate of Arizona State and worked for before arriving in Minneapolis. Follow him at @masterstrib.

Vikings cut list includes Lloyd, Walker

Posted by: under Vikings, NFC, Adrian Peterson, Anthony Herrera, Antoine Winfield, Ben Leber, Bernard Berrian, Brett Favre, Brian Robison, Bryant McKinnie, Cedric Griffin, Chad Greenway, Chris Kluwe, E.J. Henderson, Heath Farwell, Jared Allen, John Sullivan, Kevin Williams, Madieu Williams, Pat Williams, Percy Harvin, Phil Loadholt, Ray Edwards, Ryan Longwell, Steve Hutchinson, Tarvaris Jackson, Tyrell Johnson, Visanthe Shiancoe, Vikings training camp Updated: September 4, 2010 - 5:11 PM

The Vikings spent the day cutting their roster to the 53-man regular-season limit.

That doesn't mean the roster won't change before Thursday's regular-season opener at New Orleans. The team only kept four wide receivers, and probably needs to add depth at cornerback and could alter things among its offensive linemen. Ryan Cook is currently the backup tackle.

Nonetheless, much of this roster will stay the same in the coming weeks. The next step for teams will be to put together the eight-man practice squad. That will be announced Sunday. 

Among the notable things about the active roster is that cornerback Cedric Griffin, who is coming off an ACL injury suffered last season in the NFC title game in New Orleans, was not placed on the reserve/physically unable to perform list. Griffin would have had to miss the first six weeks if he went on that list.

He won't play Thursday night but is expected to be ready to return at some point early in the season.

The Vikings roster currently looks like this:

Quarterback (3): Brett Favre, Tarvaris Jackson, Joe Webb.

Running backs (3): Adrian Peterson, Albert Young, Toby Gerhart

Fullback (1): Naufahu Tahi

Wide receivers (4): Percy Harvin, Bernard Berrian, Greg Lewis, Greg Camarillo

Tight ends (4): Visanthe Shiancoe, Jim Kleinsasser, Jeff Dugan, Mickey Shuler

Offensive linemen (8): Bryant McKinnie, Steve Hutchinson, John Sullivan, Anthony Herrera, Phil Loadholt, Ryan Cook, Jon Cooper, Chris DeGeare

Defensive linemen (10): Ray Edwards, Kevin Williams, Pat Williams, Jared Allen, Jayme Mitchell, Jimmy Kennedy, Latroy Guion, Brian Robison, Fred Evans, Everson Griffen

Linebackers (7): Chad Greenway, E.J. Henderson, Ben Leber, Erin Henderson, Jasper Brinkley, Heath Farwell, Kenny Onatolu

Cornerbacks (5): Lito Sheppard, Antoine Winfield, Chris Cook, Asher Allen, Cedric Griffin

Safeties (5): Tyrell Johnson, Madieu Williams, Husain Abdullah, Jamarca Sanford, Eric Frampton

Specialists (3): Ryan Longwell, kicker; Chris Kluwe, punter, Cullen Loeffler, long snapper

Here is a look at the cuts the Vikings made on Saturday. The Vikings listed these on their website (

S Colt Anderson
OG Thomas Austin
OG Adrian Battles

WR Taye Biddle

WR Freddie Brown

OT Patrick Brown

OT Chris Clark

FB Ryan D’Imperio

WR Marquis Hamilton

RB Ian Johnson

DT Tremaine Johnson

K Rhys Lloyd

TE Garrett Mills

DE Mike Montgomery

WR Logan Payne

OT Drew Radovich

CB Marcus Sherels

LB Nate Triplett

WR Javon Walker

CB DeAndre Wright.


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters