Ravens center, former Vikings star Birk wins NFL's Man of the Year award

  • Article by: Associated Press
  • Updated: February 5, 2012 - 2:15 AM

The award honors a player for his off-the-field work as well as for his playing excellence.


Ravens center Matt Birk.

Photo: Rhonda Prast, Star Tribune file

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

INDIANAPOLIS — Baltimore Ravens center Matt Birk is the Walter Payton Man of the Year.

The award honors a player for his off-the-field work as well as for his playing excellence.

Birk, the former Cretin-Derham Hall and Vikings standout who just completed his 14th NFL season, has made 96 consecutive starts and is one of the Ravens team leaders. He also supports youth literacy with a program called "Ready, Set, Read," through his HIKE Foundation.

Birk also has agreed to donate his brain and spinal cord tissue to the Boston University's Center for Traumatic Encephalopathy, which researches the effects of repetitive head trauma.

The award will be presented Sunday by NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, Payton's two children — Jarrett and Brittney — before the Giants and Patriots play in the Super Bowl.

The other finalists were San Diego quarterback Philip Rivers and Chicago cornerback Charles Tillman.

"This award is not about the recipient," Birk said, "but rather a celebration of the decades-long tradition of NFL players using their unique platform to touch lives and make a positive and lasting impact in the communities in which they work and live."

NFL Charities makes a $1,000 donation to the charity chosen by each team's winner, a $5,000 donation to the three finalists' favorite charity and $20,000 donation to the winner's choice.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - LP: T. House 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: A. Simon 4
Chicago Cubs 0 Postponed
Cincinnati 0
Kansas City 0 Postponed
Chicago WSox 0
Houston - WP: S. Feldman 9 FINAL
Oakland - LP: K. Graveman 3
NY Mets - WP: M. Harvey 8 FINAL
NY Yankees - LP: C. Sabathia 2
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 0 FINAL
Miami - WP: T. Koehler 8
Toronto - LP: B. Cecil 2 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: E. Frieri 4
Atlanta - WP: S. Miller 5 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: D. Buchanan 2
Boston - LP: K. Uehara 4 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: B. Matusz 5
St. Louis - WP: M. Belisle 5 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: W. Peralta 3
Pittsburgh - WP: T. Watson 2 FINAL
Arizona - LP: A. Reed 1
San Francisco - WP: J. Machi 5 FINAL
Colorado - LP: B. Brown 4
Los Angeles - WP: B. McCarthy 11 FINAL
San Diego - LP: I. Kennedy 8
Texas - LP: C. Lewis 1 FINAL
LA Angels - WP: V. Pestano 4
Minnesota - WP: T. Stauffer 8 FINAL
Seattle - LP: J. Paxton 5
Atlanta 83 FINAL
Brooklyn 91
Chicago 90 FINAL
Milwaukee 92
Golden State 109 FINAL
New Orleans 98
Memphis 109 4th Qtr 0:28
Portland 104
Washington 1 FINAL
NY Islanders 3
Detroit 4 FINAL
Tampa Bay 0
Nashville 3 FINAL
Chicago 4
Vancouver 4 FINAL
Calgary 7
Philadelphia 1 FINAL
Columbus 4
Real Salt Lake 0 FINAL
New England 4
Sporting Kansas City 4 FINAL
Houston 4
Vancouver FC 1
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters






question of the day

Poll: Where will Adrian Peterson be playing in 2015?

Weekly Question