A litany of Lions losing

  • Updated: September 24, 2011 - 9:40 PM

Since the Vikings entered the NFL in 1961, the Lions have won only three division titles. The Vikings have won 18. Today, the teams meet for the 100th time. The Vikings hold a 66-31-2 advantage against a litany of Lions coaches.

George Wilson (1957-64): Wilson led the Lions to their only NFL championship in his first season. The Lions were 11-3 in 1962, and Wilson beat the Vikings in the teams' first five meetings.

Harry Gilmer (1965-66): Two sixth-place finishes in the NFL Western Conference doomed him. A gaudy 2-2 against the Vikings, though.

Joe Schmidt (1967-72): Finished with four consecutive second-place finishes in the Central, made the playoffs in 1970, but Bud Grant beat him 10 consecutive times.

Don McCafferty (1973): McCafferty coached the Colts in their Super Bowl V championship. Was 6-7-1 with the Lions but died after a heart attack the summer after his first season in Detroit.

Rick Forzano (1974-76): Resigned in frustration early in his third season. But he beat the Vikings twice.

Tommy Hudspeth (1976-77): Lions owner William Clay Ford pursued Rams coach Chuck Knox during Hudspeth's tenure but could never land him. Hudspeth was fired anyway.

Monte Clark (1978-84): We have a winner. After a wild-card loss in 1982, Clark went 9-7 in 1983 to win the NFC Central. The Lions trailed San Francisco in the playoffs 24-23 with 11 seconds remaining. They lined up for a game-winning field goal, but Eddie Murray missed from 43 yards. Ouch. Clark was 5-8 against the Vikings.

Darryl Rogers (1985-88): A successful coach at Michigan State and Arizona State, Rogers struggled with the Lions. His famous quote: "What does a coach have to do around here to get fired?" He found out late in the 1988 season.

Wayne Fontes (1988-96): Fontes (67-71) is the winningest and losingest coach in team history. Drafting Barry Sanders in 1989 helped. Constantly in the hot seat, Fontes won the NFC Central in 1991 and 1993. In 1991, Detroit beat Dallas for its last playoff victory. Fontes also earned a wild-card spot in 1994 and 1995. He was 7-11 against the Vikings.

Bobby Ross (1997-2000): A tough coach who led San Diego to the Super Bowl after the 1994 season, Ross helped the Lions to the playoffs as a wild card in 1997 and 1999 but quit in 2000 and Gary Moeller coached out the season. The Lions' last winning season was 1999. And Ross has the last victory (1997) by the Lions at the Metrodome.

Marty Mornhinweg (2001-02): 2-14 and 3-13. That's not good.

Steve Mariucci (2003-05): Working for controversial GM Matt Millen was not exactly gravy. Mariucci was fired in 2005, and Dick Jauron coached out the season.

Rod Marinelli (2006-2008): The Lions hit rock bottom with an NFL-record 0-16 season in 2008.

Jim Schwartz (2009-): Is he turning it around? The Lions took QB Matthew Stafford No. 1 overall in 2009 and have gone 2-14 and 6-10 under Schwartz. This season, they have started 2-0.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Toronto - WP: A. Sanchez 5 FINAL
NY Yankees - LP: D. Robertson 4
Washington - WP: D. Fister 4 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: M. Latos 2
Arizona - LP: V. Nuno 2 FINAL
Philadelphia - WP: R. Hernandez 4
Boston - WP: A. Webster 3 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: C. Archer 2
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 2 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: J. Nelson 0
Miami - WP: J. Turner 4 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. McHugh 2
Chicago WSox - LP: R. Belisario 3 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: J. Burton 4
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 10 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: B. Chen 3
St. Louis - WP: A. Wainwright 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: K. Hendricks 0
Detroit - LP: J. Chamberlain 1 FINAL
LA Angels - WP: J. Smith 2
Pittsburgh - WP: T. Watson 7 FINAL
Colorado - LP: R. Brothers 5
Baltimore - WP: T. McFarland 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: Y. Medina 2
San Diego - LP: E. Stults 3 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: M. Minor 8
Oakland - WP: S. Kazmir 9 FINAL
Texas - LP: M. Mikolas 3
Los Angeles - WP: H. Ryu 4 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: J. Peavy 3
FC Dallas 2 FINAL
Vancouver FC 2
Portland 3 FINAL
Montreal 2
Calgary 26 FINAL
Edmonton 22
Winnipeg 23 FINAL
Brt Columbia 6
Ottawa 23 FINAL
Hamilton 33
Toronto 9 FINAL
Saskatchewan 37
Minnesota 76 FINAL
Connecticut 65
Atlanta 67 FINAL
Washington 77
Chicago 69 FINAL
Tulsa 79
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters



Date/Opponent Time W L Score
2014 preseason     
Aug 8 - vs. Oakland 7 pm
Aug 16 - vs. Arizona 7:30 pm
Aug 23 - at Kansas City 7 pm
Aug 28 - at Tennessee 7 pm
2014 regular season     
Sep 7 - at St. Louis Noon
Sep 14 - vs. New England Noon
Sep 21 - at New Orleans Noon
Sep 28 - vs. Atlanta 3:25 pm
Oct 2 - at Green Bay 7:25 pm
Oct 12 - vs. Detroit Noon
Oct 19 - at. Buffalo Noon
Oct 26 - at Tampa Bay Noon
Nov 2 - vs. Washington Noon
Nov 9 - Bye
Nov 16 - at Chicago Noon
Nov. 23 - vs. Green Bay Noon
Nov. 30 - vs. Carolina Noon
Dec 7 - vs. NY Jets Noon
Dec 14 - at Detroit Noon
Dec 21 - at Miami Noon
Dec 28 - vs. Chicago Noon




question of the day

Poll: Which local pro team are you most excited about?

Weekly Question