AL leaders hold firm in latest round of All-Star voting

  • Updated: June 22, 2014 - 10:05 PM

Toronto's Melky Cabrera holds the voting lead for the final AL outfield spot.

Photo: Kathy Willens, Associated Press

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Only one position in the American League starting lineup for the All-Star Game seems to be in question, with most of the leaders holding firm in the latest round of fan voting, announced Sunday.

The tightest race is for the third outfield spot, with Toronto’s Melky Cabrera leading Oakland’s Yoenis Cespedes by a little more than 160,000 votes.

At the other spots, the leaders have held firm. That includes Baltimore’s Matt Wieters at catcher. Wieters will miss the July 15 game at Target Field — and the rest of the season — because of Tommy John elbow ligament replacement surgery.

Voting ends July 3.



Miguel Cabrera, Tigers — 2,645,000

Jose Abreu, White Sox — 1,420,294

Chris Davis, Orioles — 1,087,112

Albert Pujols, Angels — 1,040,316

Mark Teixeira, Yankees — 718,367


Robinson Cano, Mariners — 2,007,055

Ian Kinsler, Tigers — 1,338,272

Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox — 1,264,329

Jose Altuve, Astros — 932,978

Brian Dozier, Twins — 841,980


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions
Chicago WSox000002010380
Minnesota «00100030X460
@Ballpark Replay
Preview | Matchup | Lineup | Log | Wrap | Box
W:J.Burton(2-2) L:R.Belisario(3-7) S:G.Perkins (25)
HR: CWS- A.Nieto (1) MIN- None


San Diego - J. Lane 11:10 AM
Atlanta - E. Santana
Washington - J. Zimmermann 6:10 PM
Miami - N. Eovaldi
Philadelphia - A. Burnett 6:10 PM
NY Mets - B. Colon
Milwaukee - K. Lohse 6:10 PM
Tampa Bay - J. Odorizzi
Toronto - R. Dickey 6:10 PM
Boston - C. Buchholz
Arizona - C. Anderson 6:10 PM
Cincinnati - H. Bailey
Colorado - Y. Flande 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - T. Wada
NY Yankees - D. Phelps 7:05 PM
Texas - Y. Darvish
Oakland - J. Chavez 7:10 PM
Houston - B. Oberholtzer
Pittsburgh - V. Worley 9:15 PM
San Francisco - M. Bumgarner
Los Angeles 9:00 PM
Calgary 26 FINAL
Edmonton 22
Winnipeg 23 FINAL
Brt Columbia 6
Ottawa 23 FINAL
Hamilton 33
Toronto 9 FINAL
Saskatchewan 37
Indiana 9:30 PM
Los Angeles
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters