All-Star Home Run Derby at Target Field will feature new format

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: July 7, 2014 - 7:53 PM

Oakland's Yoenis Cespedes captured the All-Star Home Run Derby last year at Citi Field in New York.

Photo: Kathy Willens, Associated Press

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Major League Baseball on Monday announced a new format for the All-Star Home Run Derby, featuring more players, fewer outs and a bracket after the first round when this year’s event is held July 14 at Target Field.

Five players from each league, up from four, will hit in the first round, with seven outs — any swing that doesn’t result in a home run is an out — instead of the 10 they had in the past. Upon the completion of the first round, the players with the most homers from each league receive a bye to the semifinals, and the second- and third-place players from each league meet head-to-head in the quarterfinals. The final round features the semifinal winners from each league.

Toronto’s Jose Bautista and Colorado’s Troy Tulowitzki were named AL and NL captains. They will announce the four other picks from their respective leagues July 7. The All-Star Game ballot on also includes a Home Run Derby fan poll, where fans can suggest up to three candidates in each league.

The new format will reward batters that can win the first round with a break. In 2008 at the old Yankee Stadium, Josh Hamilton hit a staggering 28 home runs in the first round — 20 home runs more than any of the other seven participants — but he hit only four homers in the second round and lost in the final to the Twins’ Justin Morneau.

Speaking of Morneau, Tulowitzki told ESPN — which will televise the Home Run Derby — he would certainly consider his Rockies teammate for the NL. “Justin’s having a great year,” Tulowitzki said. “… I know the fans in Minnesota would love for him to participate.”


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Buffalo 12/28/14 12:00 PM
New England
Cleveland 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Dallas 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Indianapolis 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Jacksonville 12/28/14 12:00 PM
San Diego 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
NY Jets 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Philadelphia 12/28/14 12:00 PM
NY Giants
New Orleans 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Carolina 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Detroit 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay
Oakland 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Arizona 12/28/14 3:25 PM
San Francisco
St. Louis 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Cincinnati 12/28/14 7:30 PM
Washington 102 FINAL
New York 91
Oklahoma City 114 FINAL
San Antonio 106
Cleveland 91 FINAL
Miami 101
LA Lakers 93 FINAL
Chicago 113
Golden State 86 FINAL
LA Clippers 100
DePaul 69 FINAL
Loyola Marymount 72
Ohio 58 FINAL
Nebraska 71
Colorado 66 FINAL
Hawaii 69
George Washington 60 FINAL
Wichita State 54
Central Mich 48 FINAL
Western Ky 49
Fresno State 6 FINAL
Rice 30
Illinois 12:00 PM
Louisiana Tech
Rutgers 3:30 PM
North Carolina
NC State 7:00 PM
Cincinnati 12/27/14 12:00 PM
Virginia Tech
Duke 12/27/14 1:10 PM
(15) Arizona State
Miami-Florida 12/27/14 2:30 PM
So Carolina
Boston College 12/27/14 3:30 PM
Penn State
(25) Nebraska 12/27/14 7:00 PM
(24) USC
Texas A&M 12/29/14 1:00 PM
West Virginia
Oklahoma 12/29/14 4:30 PM
(18) Clemson
Arkansas 12/29/14 8:00 PM
Notre Dame 12/30/14 2:00 PM
(22) LSU
(13) Georgia 12/30/14 5:45 PM
(20) Louisville
Maryland 12/30/14 9:00 PM
(9) Ole Miss 12/31/14 11:30 AM
(6) TCU
(21) Boise State 12/31/14 3:00 PM
(12) Arizona
(8) Miss State 12/31/14 7:00 PM
(10) Georgia Tech
(19) Auburn 1/1/15 11:00 AM
(17) Wisconsin
(7) Michigan State 1/1/15 11:30 AM
(4) Baylor
(16) Missouri 1/1/15 12:00 PM
(2) Florida State 1/1/15 4:00 PM
(3) Oregon
(5) Ohio State 1/1/15 7:30 PM
(1) Alabama
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Do you like the Twins' offseason moves so far?

Weekly Question