Chart: So how rare was this Twins victory?

  • Updated: July 14, 2013 - 11:07 PM

New York Yankees pitcher CC Sabathia paused on the mound after he loaded the bases by walking the Twins’ Joe Mauer in the fourth inning on Sunday. The Twins won 10-4.

Photo: Kathy Kmonicek • Associated Press,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


If you didn’t expect the Twins to win Sunday’s series finale against the Yankees, you had good reason:

first N.Y. series win since 2001

The Twins hadn’t won a series at Yankee Stadium since 2001, when Tom Kelly was still the manager and the Yankees played in the old stadium. Including the playoffs, Ron Gardenhire’s managerial record at both Yankee Stadiums was 10-36 entering Sunday.

Sabathia surprised

ø CC Sabathia was 17-8 in 33 career starts against the Twins, and he was undefeated in his previous 12 starts against them, going 11-0 with a 2.01 ERA.

Mourneau a hit

Justin Morneau was a career .128 hitter (6-for-47) against Sabathia. But Sunday, Morneau was credited with a double on a fly ball that no one could reach and a single on a broken-bat flare that landed between the mound and second base.

  • related content

  • New York Yankees starting pitcher CC Sabathia walks off the field at the top of the third inning after giving up a three-run home run to Minnesota Twins' Aaron Hicks in a baseball game at Yankee Stadium on Sunday, July 14, 2013 in New York. The Twins won 10-4. (AP Photo/Kathy Kmonicek)

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions
Minnesota «50001021413180
@Ballpark Replay
Preview | Matchup | Lineup | Log | Wrap | Box
W:P.Hughes(10-5) L:B.Anderson(0-3)
HR: MIN- B.Dozier 2 (18) COL- None


Chicago WSox - LP: J. Guerra 2 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: B. Shaw 3
Pittsburgh - LP: F. Liriano 3 FINAL
Cincinnati - WP: J. Cueto 6
Miami - LP: B. Hand 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 9
Washington - WP: T. Roark 10 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: K. Kendrick 3
Toronto - LP: R. Dickey 0 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: D. Price 3
St. Louis - LP: C. Martinez 2 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: W. Peralta 11
Boston - WP: C. Buchholz 11 FINAL
Houston - LP: B. Peacock 0
Detroit - LP: J. Verlander 2 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: Y. Ventura 5
Atlanta - WP: J. Teheran 10 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: T. Wood 7
LA Angels - WP: T. Skaggs 10 FINAL
Texas - LP: S. Baker 7
Arizona - LP: V. Nuno 4 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 8
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 0 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: H. Ryu 1
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 13 FINAL
Colorado - LP: B. Anderson 5
Oakland - WP: S. Gray 4 FINAL
Seattle - LP: C. Young 1
NY Yankees - LP: C. Whitley 1 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: K. Gausman 3
Portland 0 FINAL
Seattle 2
Winnipeg 34 FINAL
Montreal 33
Ottawa 11 FINAL
Edmonton 27
Calgary 34 FINAL
Toronto 15
Brt Columbia 26 FINAL
Saskatchewan 13
Los Angeles 90 FINAL
Connecticut 64
Seattle 60 FINAL
Minnesota 77
San Antonio 61 FINAL
Phoenix 90
Chicago 79 FINAL
Atlanta 81
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who will win the Home Run Derby?

Weekly Question