Mientkiewicz rejoins Twins as Fort Myers manager

  • Updated: December 11, 2012 - 12:33 AM

The team announced all of its minor league assignments Monday, with familiar names filling most of the jobs.

The Twins will have a new manager as part of their minor league staff in 2013, and he's a former fan favorite.

Doug Mientkiewicz, the former Twins first baseman who was part of the revival of the franchise in the early 2000s, has been named manager of Class A Fort Myers of the Florida State League. Mientkiewicz played 12 seasons in the majors, including seven with the Twins from 1998-2004. The Twins traded Mientkiewicz to Boston during the 2004 season, and he went on to win the World Series with the Red Sox.

He gained notoriety after the Series for attempting to keep the ball from the final out, leading to a legal spat with the club. The ball is now property of the Hall of Fame after the sides agreed on a compromise.

Mientkiewicz, 38, got his start in coaching last year as the hitting coach for the Ogden (Utah) Raptors of the Pioneer League, a Los Angeles Dodgers affiliate.

The Twins on Monday announced all of their minor league assignments. Gene Glynn will return for his second season as manager of Class AAA Rochester. Jake Mauer moves from Fort Myers to the Twins' new affiliate at Class A Cedar Rapids.

Jeff Smith will begin his fourth year as manager of Class AA New Britain. Ray Smith will manage Elizabethton (Tenn.) of the Appalachian League for the 27th season. Ramon Borrego enters his fourth season as the manager of the Twins rookie team in the Gulf Coast League.


  • related content

  • Greinke gets $147M in L.A.

    Monday December 10, 2012

    The Los Angeles Dodgers finalized a $147 million, six-year deal with free agent right-hander Zack Greinke on Monday.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions
Chicago WSox000002010380
Minnesota «00100030X460
@Ballpark Replay
Preview | Matchup | Lineup | Log | Wrap | Box
W:J.Burton(2-2) L:R.Belisario(3-7) S:G.Perkins (25)
HR: CWS- A.Nieto (1) MIN- None


San Diego - LP: J. Lane 0 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: E. Santana 2
Washington - LP: R. Soriano 6 FINAL
Miami - WP: M. Dunn 7
Philadelphia - LP: A. Burnett 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 7
Milwaukee - LP: K. Lohse 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 2
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 14 FINAL
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 1
Arizona - WP: O. Perez 2 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: J. Hoover 1
Colorado - LP: Y. Flande 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: T. Wada 4
NY Yankees - LP: D. Phelps 2 FINAL
Texas - WP: Y. Darvish 4
Oakland - LP: J. Chavez 3 FINAL
Houston - WP: B. Oberholtzer 7
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 5 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: M. Bumgarner 0
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Los Angeles 3 FINAL
Seattle 0
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Indiana 73 FINAL
Los Angeles 77
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Should the Twins replace Ron Gardenhire?

Weekly Question