Lynx trio makes cut for Team USA in London Olympics

Seimone Augustus, Maya Moore and Lindsay Whalen followed up a WNBA title with berths on Team USA.

view larger photos


Tally-ho. Three Lynx players are going to London this summer.

Guards Lindsay Whalen and Seimone Augustus and forward Maya Moore were named to the U.S. women's basketball team on Friday for the 2012 Summer Olympics. Team USA, the four-time defending champion, will be the gold medal favorite. It has a 33-game winning streak in the Olympics.

"[Being an Olympian] is one of those things I've dreamt about since I was growing up," Whalen said, according a USA Basketball news release.

Of the eight other WNBA players picked, three will be on their third Olympic team: guards Diana Taurasi of Phoenix and Sue Bird of Seattle and forward Tamika Catchings of Indiana.

Also on the team are Swin Cash and Sylvia Fowles of Chicago, Candace Parker of Los Angeles, Tina Charles of Connecticut and Angel McCoughtry of Atlanta.

One roster spot remains open, probably for 6-8 junior center Brittney Griner of Baylor. Her 38-0 Lady Bears are in semifinals of the women's Final Four on Sunday. Rebekkah Brunson, a fourth Lynx player, also was in the 21-player national pool but would be a long shot possibility for the last spot.

Augustus played for Team USA in the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Whalen and Moore were on the U.S. team that won the world championships in 2010.

"They are three of the best players in the world," Team USA coach Geno Auriemma said of the three Lynx players. "They do have great chemistry. They did have an unbelievable season and won the WNBA championship. I see not only the talent, but they are unselfish competitors and they know how to win."

The Lynx won their first WNBA title last season with Whalen, Augustus and Moore all playing key roles and appearing in the league all-star game.

"The last few years have been really great and I've been lucky," said Whalen, now playing in the Czech Republic. "I've been working hard, doing all the right things and it's paid off. I'm just super excited."

Team USA will practice May 11-13 before the WNBA season starts and again briefly before the preliminary round-robin starts on July 28.

"With the fact there is so little time to prepare," Auriemma said, "any added advantage with players knowing or being comfortable with each other makes the job so much easier.

"The lack of practice is an issue, but it is what it is and we can't change it and we will win despite of it."

  • related content

  • From left, Maya Moore, Seimone Augustus and Lindsay Whalen, stars who pulled together for the Lynx in a WNBA championship run last summer, will make up one-fourth of the 12-player Team USA roster for the 2012 Summer Olympics in London.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cincinnati - LP: J. Broxton 1 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: T. Watson 2
Minnesota - LP: T. May 1 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: M. Gonzalez 9
NY Yankees - WP: C. Capuano 6 FINAL
Toronto - LP: M. Buehrle 3
Philadelphia - LP: J. Diekman 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 4
Boston - WP: A. Ranaudo 8 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: C. Archer 4
Miami - LP: C. Hatcher 2 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: D. Carpenter 5
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 6 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: J. Vargas 1
Detroit - WP: J. Verlander 7 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: S. Carroll 1
Texas - WP: S. Baker 13 FINAL
Houston - LP: B. Oberholtzer 6
Chicago Cubs - WP: N. Ramirez 7 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: P. Neshek 2
Colorado - LP: R. Brothers 2 FINAL
Arizona - WP: B. Ziegler 5
Oakland - LP: J. Lester 0 FINAL
LA Angels - WP: J. Weaver 4
Los Angeles - LP: K. Correia 2 FINAL
San Diego - WP: T. Stauffer 3
Washington - WP: J. Zimmermann 8 FINAL
Seattle - LP: F. Hernandez 3
Milwaukee - LP: W. Peralta 2 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: R. Vogelsong 13
Green Bay 9/4/14 7:30 PM
(21) Texas A&M 52 FINAL
(9) So Carolina 28
Wake Forest 10 FINAL
ULM 17
Boise State 13 FINAL
(18) Ole Miss 35
Tulane 31 FINAL
Tulsa 38
Rutgers 41 FINAL
Washington St 38
Weber State 14 FINAL
(19) Arizona State 45
Temple 37 FINAL
Vanderbilt 7
Connecticut 10
(6) Jacksonville St 7 FINAL
(8) Michigan State 45
Bowling Green 31 FINAL
Western Ky 59
TX-San Antonio 27 FINAL
Houston 7
Colorado State 31 FINAL
Colorado 17
Arizona 58
Penn State 7:30 AM
Troy 11:00 AM
(7) UCLA 11:00 AM
Western Mich 11:00 AM
(5) Ohio State 11:00 AM
Appalachian St 11:00 AM
Ga Southern 11:30 AM
NC State
Boston College 2:00 PM
West Virginia 2:30 PM
(2) Alabama
Rice 2:30 PM
(17) Notre Dame
(10) South Dakota St 2:30 PM
(24) Missouri
Fla Atlantic 2:30 PM
(22) Nebraska
California 2:30 PM
Marshall 2:30 PM
UC Davis 3:00 PM
(11) Stanford
Arkansas 3:00 PM
(6) Auburn
(16) Clemson 4:30 PM
(12) Georgia
Liberty 5:00 PM
(23) North Carolina
Ohio U 5:00 PM
Kent State
Louisiana Tech 6:00 PM
(4) Oklahoma
Idaho 6:00 PM
Stephen F Austin 6:10 PM
(20) Kansas State
Fresno State 6:30 PM
(15) USC
Southern Miss 6:30 PM
Miss State
Texas-El Paso 7:00 PM
New Mexico
North Texas 7:00 PM
(1) Florida State 7:00 PM
Oklahoma State
(14) Wisconsin 8:00 PM
(13) LSU
South Dakota 9:30 PM
(3) Oregon
(25) Washington 9:30 PM
Utah State 8/31/14 6:00 PM
SMU 8/31/14 6:30 PM
(10) Baylor
Miami-Florida 9/1/14 7:00 PM
Arizona 9/4/14 7:00 PM
TX-San Antonio
Pittsburgh 9/5/14 6:00 PM
Boston College
Washington St 9/5/14 9:30 PM
Houston 3 FINAL
Sporting Kansas City 1
Ottawa 10 FINAL
Montreal 20
Winnipeg 8/31/14 3:00 PM
Toronto 9/1/14 12:00 PM
Edmonton 9/1/14 3:30 PM
Brt Columbia 9/5/14 6:30 PM
Calgary 9/6/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 9/7/14 12:00 PM
Saskatchewan 9/7/14 3:00 PM
Minnesota 71 FINAL
Phoenix 85
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters