Gophers will play at home on first weekend of NCAA softball tournament

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: May 11, 2014 - 11:20 PM

The Big Ten tournament champions are seeded 16th in the NCAA tournament.

The Gophers softball team, fresh off the second Big Ten tournament championship in school history, will play at home during the first weekend of the NCAA tournament.

The Gophers will be joined by Green Bay, Auburn and North Dakota State in the double-elimination regional, which begins Friday at Jane Sage Cowles Stadium. The Gophers, the 16th and final seed out of the 64 teams, will open against Green Bay. The Minneapolis survivor advances to the Super Regionals the following week.

This will be the Gophers’ ninth NCAA tournament appearance and their second in a row under coach Jessica Allister. They earned the Big Ten’s automatic bid by beating Michigan 3-2 in the conference tournament championship game on Saturday night in Evanston, Ill. Last year they were eliminated in three games in the Seattle regional.

The Gophers (41-9) enter the tournament having won five in a row and eight of their last nine. Their .820 winning percentage is the highest in school history.

“I feel good about the games that we’ve been stringing together the last couple of outings, so I think we’re playing some good softball right now, and it should add to our confidence,” Allister said after Saturday’s victory.

The victory over the Wolverines came in walk-off fashion when freshman Sam Macken drove in Erica Meyer with a two-out single on a 1-2 pitch in the bottom of the seventh inning. The hit was the first of the weekend for the Rochester, Minn., native.

“Just staying calm and keeping it simple,” Macken said of her approach at the plate in the seventh. “Kind of like all we’ve been doing every day at practice. Just doing the same thing and not trying to do too much.”

Kaitlyn Richardson was named the tournament’s most outstanding player. Richardson finished the weekend with an .857 batting average, .889 on-base percentage, and 2.000 slugging percentage, thanks in part to two home runs and two doubles.

Oregon was made the No. 1 seed for the NCAA tournament. The Southeastern Conference led all leagues with 11 teams. The Big Ten has five teams, the others being Michigan, Nebraska, Wisconsin and Northwestern.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Buffalo 12/28/14 12:00 PM
New England
Cleveland 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Dallas 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Indianapolis 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Jacksonville 12/28/14 12:00 PM
San Diego 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
NY Jets 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Philadelphia 12/28/14 12:00 PM
NY Giants
New Orleans 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Carolina 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Detroit 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay
Oakland 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Arizona 12/28/14 3:25 PM
San Francisco
St. Louis 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Cincinnati 12/28/14 7:30 PM
Washington 49 2nd Qtr 4:45
New York 35
Oklahoma City 1:30 PM
San Antonio
Cleveland 4:00 PM
LA Lakers 7:00 PM
Golden State 9:30 PM
LA Clippers
DePaul 12:30 PM
Loyola Marymount
Ohio 3:00 PM
Colorado 5:30 PM
George Washington 7:30 PM
Wichita State
Marshall 52 FINAL
Northern Ill 23
Navy 17 FINAL
San Diego St 16
Central Mich 48 FINAL
Western Ky 49
Fresno State 6 FINAL
Rice 30
Illinois 12/26/14 12:00 PM
Louisiana Tech
Rutgers 12/26/14 3:30 PM
North Carolina
NC State 12/26/14 7:00 PM
Cincinnati 12/27/14 12:00 PM
Virginia Tech
Duke 12/27/14 1:10 PM
(15) Arizona State
Miami-Florida 12/27/14 2:30 PM
So Carolina
Boston College 12/27/14 3:30 PM
Penn State
(25) Nebraska 12/27/14 7:00 PM
(24) USC
Texas A&M 12/29/14 1:00 PM
West Virginia
Oklahoma 12/29/14 4:30 PM
(18) Clemson
Arkansas 12/29/14 8:00 PM
Notre Dame 12/30/14 2:00 PM
(22) LSU
(13) Georgia 12/30/14 5:45 PM
(20) Louisville
Maryland 12/30/14 9:00 PM
(9) Ole Miss 12/31/14 11:30 AM
(6) TCU
(21) Boise State 12/31/14 3:00 PM
(12) Arizona
(8) Miss State 12/31/14 7:00 PM
(10) Georgia Tech
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters


Gophers Football Time W L Score
2014 season     
Aug 28 - vs. E. Illinois 6 pmX42-20
Sep 6 - vs. M. Tennessee St. 2:30 pmX35-24
Sep 13 - at TCU 3 pmX30-7
Sep 20 - vs. San Jose St. 3 p.m.X24-7
Sep 27 - at Michigan 2:30 pmX30-14
Oct 11 - vs. Northwestern 11 amX24-17
Oct 18 - vs. Purdue 11 amX39-38
Oct 25 - at Illinois 11 amX28-24
Nov 8 - vs. Iowa 11 amX51-14
Nov 15 - vs. Ohio State 11 amX31-24
Nov 22 - at Nebraska 11 amX28-24
Nov 29 - at Wisconsin 2:30 pmX34-24
Jan 1 - vs. Missouri noon




question of the day

Poll: What's your favorite Gophers football uniform colors?

Weekly Question