Gophers win Big Ten softball title with a walk-off

  • Updated: May 10, 2014 - 11:35 PM

– After getting two strikes on her, freshman Sam Macken hit a hard grounder that the Michigan second baseman couldn’t handle.

And the celebration began.

Macken’s run-scoring, walk-off single gave the Gophers a 3-2 victory over the top-seeded Wolverines and the Big Ten tournament championship. Minnesota had won this tournament only once before, in 1999 when it also beat the Wolverines.

Michigan (42-12) had beaten the Gophers two out of three in a series in Ann Arbor and was the conference co-champion. The Gophers had finished third and were the No. 3 seed.

No matter. Erica Meyer led off the Gophers’ seventh with a walk. She stole second base after a botched sacrifice bunt and moved to third on a wild pitch.

Leadoff hitter Tyler Walker, who slugged two homers earlier in the day in the Gophers’ 9-0 rout of Ohio State in five innings in the semifinals, was intentionally walked.

Up came Macken, a .257 hitter with only three RBI. She made good contact and Walker, running to second base, might have bothered the fielder. Game over.

The Wolverines (42-11) threatened in the top of the seventh on Lyndsay Doyle’s two-out double, but Walker made a diving catch at shortstop on the next batter.

Michigan took a 2-0 lead in the fourth inning. Caitlan Blanchard doubled and, after an error and a wild pitch, Michigan had runners on second and third base. Lauren Sweet’s singled scored both.

In the bottom of the fourth, Kaitlyn Richardson — the tournament MVP — and pitcher Sara Groenewegen hit solo homers, one batter apart, to tie the score at 2-2. The Gophers hit eight homers in three tournament games, giving them a single-season team record of 63.

Against OSU, they hit four. Walker led off the game with a homer and hit another in the third. Bree Blanchette and Meyer had two-run homers in the second and fifth innings, respectively.

Senior righthander Sara Moulton threw a one-hitter for her 12th shutout of the season.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


San Diego - LP: J. Lane 0 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: E. Santana 2
Washington - LP: R. Soriano 6 FINAL
Miami - WP: M. Dunn 7
Philadelphia - LP: A. Burnett 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 7
Milwaukee - LP: K. Lohse 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 2
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 14 FINAL
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 1
Arizona 2 Bottom 15th Inning
Cincinnati 1
Colorado - LP: Y. Flande 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: T. Wada 4
NY Yankees - LP: D. Phelps 2 FINAL
Texas - WP: Y. Darvish 4
Oakland - LP: J. Chavez 3 FINAL
Houston - WP: B. Oberholtzer 7
Pittsburgh 5 Bottom 5th Inning
San Francisco 0
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Los Angeles 3 2nd Half 20:00
Seattle 0
Calgary 26 FINAL
Edmonton 22
Winnipeg 23 FINAL
Brt Columbia 6
Ottawa 23 FINAL
Hamilton 33
Toronto 9 FINAL
Saskatchewan 37
Indiana 37 3rd Qtr 6:59
Los Angeles 35
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question