Minnesota State claims WCHA title

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 23, 2014 - 8:11 AM

MSU Mankato gained automatic entry into the NCAA tournament with a decisive victory over the Bulldogs.

– Teddy Blueger set up two goals, then scored into an empty net as Minnesota State, Mankato, clinched a berth in the NCAA tournament by beating Ferris State 4-1 on Saturday night for the WCHA Final Five championship.

Cole Huggins had 25 saves for the Mavericks (26-13-1) and was named the tournament’s most outstanding player.

Ferris State (28-10-3) won the regular-season league title and also is likely to earn an NCAA berth.

Brett Knowles and Brett Stern both scored their first goals of the season for Minnesota State, both set up by Blueger. Michael Huntebrinker also scored for the Mavericks.

C. J. Motte faced 31 shots for Ferris State, which got its goal from Gerald Mayhew.

Huggins, a freshman, shut out Bowling Green 4-0 in Friday’s semifinals at Van Andel Arena, and Mayhew scored in overtime to lift Ferris State to a 5-4 victory over Alaska Anchorage.

The WCHA was a new-look league this season after losing two teams to the new Big Ten Conference and six others to the newly formed NCHC. Four teams remained in the league from 2012-13.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Philadelphia - WP: A. Harang 5 FINAL
Washington - LP: J. Zimmermann 3
Atlanta - LP: S. Marimon 5 FINAL
Toronto - WP: B. Cecil 6
Chicago WSox - WP: C. Sale 12 FINAL
Detroit - LP: A. Sanchez 3
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 4 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: P. Hughes 2
Cincinnati - LP: H. Bailey 2 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: C. Martinez 5
San Diego - LP: C. Kimbrel 6 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: Z. Rosscup 7
Baltimore - WP: C. Tillman 4 FINAL
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 1
Milwaukee - LP: K. Lohse 2 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: J. Locke 6
Miami - LP: M. Latos 4 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 5
LA Angels - LP: C. Wilson 0 FINAL
Houston - WP: D. Keuchel 4
NY Yankees - WP: M. Tanaka 9 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: J. Odorizzi 0
Oakland - WP: J. Hahn 5 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: Y. Ventura 0
Arizona - LP: R. De La Rosa 1 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: C. Heston 4
Colorado - LP: J. Lyles 3 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: Z. Greinke 6
Texas - LP: C. Lewis 1 FINAL
Seattle - WP: F. Hernandez 3
Washington 93 FINAL
Toronto 86
New Orleans 99 FINAL
Golden State 106
Milwaukee 91 FINAL
Chicago 103
Dallas 108 FINAL
Houston 118
Minnesota 1 FINAL
St. Louis 4
Detroit 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay 5
Pittsburgh 4 FINAL
NY Rangers 3
Winnipeg 1 FINAL
Anaheim 2
Houston 1 FINAL
D.C. 1
Orlando City 0 FINAL
Columbus 3
Toronto FC 2 FINAL
FC Dallas 3
Seattle 3 FINAL
Colorado 1
Vancouver FC 1 FINAL
Real Salt Lake 0
Sporting Kansas City 1 FINAL
Los Angeles 2
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Does it bother you that Tyus Jones chose Duke over Minnesota?

Weekly Question