Denver claims spot in NCHC final

  • Article by: NATE GOTLIEB , Special to the Star Tribune
  • Updated: March 21, 2014 - 10:02 PM

Western Michigan’s Shane Berschbach beat Denver goalie Sam Brittain for a breakaway goal in the second period Friday, but Denver rallied to beat the Broncos at Target Center.

Photo: Tom Olmscheid • Associated Press,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Ty Loney scored with less than five minutes remaining Friday to lift Denver to a 4-3 victory over Western Michigan in the first semifinal game of the NCHC Frozen Faceoff at Target Center.

The Pioneers will face either Miami-Ohio or North Dakota in Saturday night’s title game. Miami led North Dakota 3-0 in the third period when this edition went to press.

Loney flipped the puck over the shoulder of Western Michigan goalie Frank Slubowski with 4:53 left, then Denver (19-15-6) held off the Broncos (19-15-5).

The Pioneers overcame an early mistake from all-league goalie Sam Brittain, who inadvertently deflected a puck into his own net just 42 seconds into the game.

“You could tell he wasn’t bothered at all,” Denver coach Jim Montgomery said of the goal.

Denver responded with goals from Daniel Doremus and Grant Arnold in the first. The Broncos took a 3-2 lead in the second period on goals by Shane Berschbach and Will Kessel, but Joey LaLeggia tied it for Denver before the period ended.

The Pioneers will look to clinch their seventh consecutive NCAA tournament berth Saturday. Montgomery said, however, that playing for a conference championship is more important than playing for the NCAA tournament.

“Our focus is staying in the moment. It’s not about what’s going to happen next week,” he said. “ Because if our focus starts to drift, then our play will drift.”

Brittain had 24 saves and Slubowski 19.

Attendance for Friday’s session was announced at 9,113.

Nate Gotlieb is a University of Minnesota student on special assignment with the Star Tribune.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - LP: T. Bauer 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: A. Swarzak 3
Cincinnati - LP: M. Leake 1 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: K. Lohse 5
Kansas City - WP: W. Davis 2 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: Z. Putnam 1
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 4 FINAL
Colorado - WP: J. De La Rosa 6
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: T. Walker 2
Detroit - WP: A. Sanchez 11 FINAL
Arizona - LP: T. Cahill 5
Los Angeles - LP: D. Haren 1 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: F. Liriano 6
San Francisco 0 Top 9th Inning
Philadelphia 0
Texas - LP: Y. Darvish 1 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: D. Phelps 2
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 4 FINAL
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 6
Miami - LP: N. Eovaldi 1 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: E. Santana 6
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 3 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: L. Lynn 0
San Diego 5 Bottom 7th Inning
Chicago Cubs 3
Houston 0 Bottom 2nd Inning
Oakland 1
Baltimore 1 Top 3rd Inning
LA Angels 1
Chicago 0 1st Half 44:55
San Jose 0
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 75 FINAL
Washington 89
New York 14 1st Qtr 3:40
Los Angeles 12
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question