Big Ten tournament: Ohio State beats Michigan State in overtime

  • Updated: March 20, 2014 - 11:51 PM

Drew Brevig of Lakeville scored the game-winner.


Ohio State forwards Tanner Fritz, left to right, and Max McCormick and defenseman Curtis Gedig celebrated after Fritz’s goal in the second period tied the score at 1-1.

Photo: Ann Heisenfelt • Associated Press,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Michigan State and Ohio State always seem to play overtime games that end with shootouts.

But Thursday all they needed was overtime. Lakeville native Drew Brevig’s goal at 4 minutes, 23 seconds of overtime gave the Buckeyes a 2-1 victory over the Spartans at the Xcel Energy Center in the second quarterfinal of the Big Ten tournament.

Brevig’s shot caught Michigan State goaltender Jake Hildebrand without his stick, seconds after taking contact near the net. The play was reviewed and the goal was confirmed.

“I don’t know if you expected anything different between these two teams. Four games in a row of overtime. We just knew there was going to be no shootout [Thursday night],” Ohio State coach Steve Rohlik said. “Two good hockey teams. Two great goaltenders. Just not a lot of difference. Fortunately, we got the bounce at the end.”

Three of the four regular-season meetings between the two teams ended in a tie and required a shootout. The Spartans won two of the shootouts, but the Buckeyes end their head-to-head matchups this season with two victories.

Ohio State freshman goaltender Christian Frey had 26 saves and Hildebrand 32.

Tanner Fritz scored the Buckeyes’ first goal late in the second period.

Fritz picked up his second point of the night with an assist on Brevig’s game-winning goal.

“We’ve been within one goal of this team four times this year,” said Greg Wolfe, who scored the Spartans’ goal in the fifth minute of the game. “Could have come out either end. Unfortunately, we got the raw end of the deal.”

Jason Gonzalez

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - LP: T. House 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: A. Simon 4
Chicago Cubs 0 Postponed
Cincinnati 0
Kansas City 0 Postponed
Chicago WSox 0
Houston - WP: S. Feldman 9 FINAL
Oakland - LP: K. Graveman 3
NY Mets - WP: M. Harvey 8 FINAL
NY Yankees - LP: C. Sabathia 2
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 0 FINAL
Miami - WP: T. Koehler 8
Toronto - LP: B. Cecil 2 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: E. Frieri 4
Atlanta - WP: S. Miller 5 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: D. Buchanan 2
Boston - LP: K. Uehara 4 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: B. Matusz 5
St. Louis - WP: M. Belisle 5 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: W. Peralta 3
Pittsburgh 2 Bottom 9th Inning
Arizona 1
San Francisco 4 Bottom 8th Inning
Colorado 3
Los Angeles 10 Bottom 6th Inning
San Diego 7
Texas 1 Top 6th Inning
LA Angels 0
Minnesota 4 Top 6th Inning
Seattle 2
Atlanta 83 FINAL
Brooklyn 91
Chicago 90 FINAL
Milwaukee 92
Golden State 109 FINAL
New Orleans 98
Memphis 11 1st Qtr 6:21
Portland 7
Washington 1 FINAL
NY Islanders 3
Detroit 4 FINAL
Tampa Bay 0
Nashville 3 3rd Prd 2:02
Chicago 4
Vancouver 4 3rd Prd
Calgary 3
Philadelphia 1 FINAL
Columbus 4
Real Salt Lake 0 FINAL
New England 4
Sporting Kansas City 4 FINAL
Houston 4
D.C. 0 1st Half 40:00
Vancouver FC 1
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Does it bother you that Tyus Jones chose Duke over Minnesota?

Weekly Question