Three U women's hockey players named All-America

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 21, 2014 - 1:33 AM

Sophomore forward Hannah Brandt and junior defenseman Rachel Ramsey of the Gophers were named to the Division I women’s hockey All-America first team on Thursday, and sophomore defenseman Milica McMillen made the second team.

Brad Frost, their head coach, was a repeat winner of the coach of the year award.

Archibald, Motzko receive NCHC awards

Junior forward Josh Archibald of Omaha was named the National Collegiate Hockey Conference’s player and forward of the year on Thursday night in Minneapolis on the eve of the first-year league’s Frozen Faceoff at Target Center.

Archibald, of Brainerd, Minn., led the NCHC and was second in the nation with 29 goals.

Bob Motzko of St. Cloud State was named the coach of the year. His Huskies won the conference title by one point over North Dakota.

Other major award winners: Denver’s Sam Brittain and Joey LaLeggia were the goalie and defenseman of the year, Colorado College defenseman Jaccob Slavin was the rookie of the year, and St. Cloud State’s Nic Dowd was the scholar-athlete of the year.

Tommies in D-III hockey semifinals

No. 6-ranked St. Thomas (20-5-3) plays No. 1 Plattsburgh (N.Y.) State (26-1-1) at 2:30 p.m. Friday in the NCAA Division III women’s hockey semifinals at the Cardinals’ on-campus Stafford Arena.

Norwich (Vt.) (26-3) plays UW-River Falls (22-4-3) in the other semifinal at 6 p.m. The national championship game will be 6 p.m. Saturday.


• The Gophers’ second-round WNIT game against Southern Methodist will be at 5 p.m. Sunday, following the men’s second-round NIT game at 2 p.m.

• Ed Saugestad, who coached the Augsburg men’s hockey team from 1958 to 1996, died Thursday from pancreatic cancer. He was 76. His teams won three NAIA national titles in 1978, 1981 and 1982 and six MIAC titles in a row from 1977-82. He was a three-time NAIA coach of the year and had a career record of 340-190-12.

• Macalester senior Renee Jordan won the 1-meter diving title with a score of 468.90 at the NCAA Division III women’s swimming and diving championships in Indianapolis, Ind. She is the school’s first champion in her sport.

• Augsburg senior center Dan Kornbaum was named a second-team Division III All-America player.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - LP: T. Bauer 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: A. Swarzak 3
Cincinnati 1 Top 8th Inning
Milwaukee 4
Kansas City 1 Top 8th Inning
Chicago WSox 1
Washington 1 Top 4th Inning
Colorado 3
NY Mets 1 Top 3rd Inning
Seattle 0
Detroit 2 Bottom 3rd Inning
Arizona 0
Los Angeles - D. Haren 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - F. Liriano
San Francisco - M. Bumgarner 6:05 PM
Philadelphia - A. Burnett
Texas - Y. Darvish 6:05 PM
NY Yankees - D. Phelps
Boston - C. Buchholz 6:07 PM
Toronto - R. Dickey
Miami - N. Eovaldi 6:10 PM
Atlanta - E. Santana
Tampa Bay - A. Cobb 6:15 PM
St. Louis - L. Lynn
San Diego - I. Kennedy 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - T. Wada
Houston - B. Peacock 9:05 PM
Oakland - J. Chavez
Baltimore - C. Tillman 9:05 PM
LA Angels - J. Weaver
Chicago 9:30 PM
San Jose
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 75 FINAL
Washington 89
New York 9:30 PM
Los Angeles
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question