NCHC Frozen Faceoff preview

  • Updated: March 20, 2014 - 9:38 PM

Only North Dakota avoided an upset in the first round of the NCHC playoffs.


Western Michigan coach Andy Murray formerly coached the Los Angeles Kings.

Photo: Associated Press file photos,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

When the National Collegiate Hockey Conference regular season ended, it looked as if the first-year league’s Frozen Faceoff would be a hot ticket.

St. Cloud State won the league title, followed by North Dakota, Omaha and Minnesota Duluth — the four schools closest to Minneapolis, and four teams with fans who would travel well.

But only North Dakota survived the first round of the playoffs to advance to a semifinal at Target Center on Friday against last-place Miami (Ohio), which shocked St. Cloud State with a two-game sweep last weekend.

Denver and Western Michigan meet in Friday’s afternoon semifinal.

North Dakota has made 11 consecutive NCAA tournaments but is on the bubble. The other three teams must win the Frozen Faceoff to earn the conference’s automatic berth.

NCHC Frozen Faceoff

At Target Center

Friday’s games

Denver vs. Western Michigan, 4:08 p.m.

Miami (Ohio) vs. North Dakota, 7:38 p.m.

Saturday’s games

Third place, 3:38 p.m.

Championship, 7:38 p.m.

TV: Semifinals and final on CBS Sports Network

Tickets: Single-session tickets are $75 or $40 and are available at Target Center.

  • related content

  • Miami (Ohio)’s Austin Czarnik

  • North Dakota’s Rocco Grimaldi, right

  • Denver’s Trevor Moore

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Philadelphia 0 Top 3rd Inning
NY Mets 0
Milwaukee 2 Top 3rd Inning
Tampa Bay 0
Arizona 0 Top 2nd Inning
Cincinnati 0
Washington 1 Bottom 1st Inning
Miami 0
Oakland - J. Hammel 1:10 PM
Houston - D. Keuchel
Pittsburgh - C. Morton 2:45 PM
San Francisco - T. Lincecum
LA Angels - G. Richards 6:05 PM
Baltimore - K. Gausman
Seattle - F. Hernandez 6:05 PM
Cleveland - C. Kluber
Chicago WSox - H. Noesi 6:08 PM
Detroit - M. Scherzer
Toronto - M. Buehrle 6:10 PM
Boston - B. Workman
Colorado - B. Anderson 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - T. Wood
NY Yankees - H. Kuroda 7:05 PM
Texas - C. Lewis
Minnesota - P. Hughes 7:10 PM
Kansas City - D. Duffy
Atlanta - A. Wood 9:10 PM
Los Angeles - Z. Greinke
St. Louis - J. Kelly 9:10 PM
San Diego - J. Hahn
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Toronto FC 6:00 PM
Colorado 6:30 PM
New England
Vancouver FC 7:30 PM
Red Bull New York 8:00 PM
Real Salt Lake
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/7/14 7:30 PM
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question