Penn State upsets Michigan in Big Ten hockey tournament

  • Article by: JASON GONZALEZ
  • Updated: March 20, 2014 - 9:33 PM

The Nittany Lions won their third game this season against the Wolverines, this time in two overtimes.

Penn State forward Tommy Olczyk (14) began celebrating as the game-winning shot by teammate Zach Saar eluded Michigan goalie Zach Nagelvoort in the second overtime.

Photo: Ann Heisenfelt • Associated Press,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

The newest addition to Division I men’s college hockey wasn’t intimidated by its first postseason experience.

Penn State upset Michigan, the winningest program in the sport, 2-1 in double overtime in the first round of the Big Ten hockey tournament on Thursday afternoon at Xcel Energy Center.

Zach Saar scored off a faceoff 12 minutes, 47 seconds into the second extra period to end the 92:47 game. Dylan Richard won the faceoff and Saar flicked the loose puck in from the middle of the left circle.

Penn State goaltender Matthew Skoff finished with 52 saves and Michigan goaltender Zach Nagelvoort stopped 63.

The Nittany Lions won just seven games in their second varsity season. But two of their three Big Ten wins were against No. 12 Michigan.

The Wolverines tied the game on Phil Di Giuseppe’s goal with nine minutes to play in the third period and nearly won in overtime. One of their 15 shots on goal in the period hit the post and danced on the goal line, but was kicked out by Blaine native Eric Scheid. Penn State coach Guy Gadowsky hugged the sophomore when he returned to the bench and asked him if he had ever played soccer.

“It was an endurance contest, obviously. We knew it would be a hard-fought game and it would be a close game,” Michigan coach Red Berenson said. “I’m disappointed, obviously. We’ve been on kind of a bubble here the last few weeks. We didn’t help ourselves tonight.”

Michigan dropped to a tie for 16th in the PairWise rankings after the loss. The ranking system mirrors how the NCAA picks the at-large teams for its 16-team tournament field.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


LA Angels - LP: C. Rasmus 6 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: R. Webb 7
Seattle - WP: H. Iwakuma 5 FINAL
Cleveland - LP: T. Bauer 2
Chicago WSox - WP: J. Quintana 11 FINAL
Detroit - LP: A. Sanchez 4
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 0 FINAL
Miami - WP: H. Alvarez 3
Philadelphia - WP: C. Hamels 6 FINAL
NY Mets - LP: D. Gee 0
Milwaukee - LP: W. Smith 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 5
Toronto - WP: M. Stroman 4 FINAL
Boston - LP: R. De La Rosa 2
Arizona - LP: T. Cahill 0 FINAL
Cincinnati - WP: M. Leake 3
Colorado - LP: T. Matzek 3 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: J. Baker 4
NY Yankees - WP: B. McCarthy 12 FINAL
Texas - LP: N. Martinez 11
Minnesota - WP: K. Gibson 2 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: J. Shields 1
Oakland - WP: E. Scribner 7 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 4
Atlanta - LP: A. Varvaro 4 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: B. League 8
St. Louis - LP: L. Lynn 1 FINAL
San Diego - WP: T. Ross 3
Pittsburgh - WP: F. Liriano 3 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: T. Hudson 1
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/7/14 7:30 PM
Connecticut 80 FINAL
Atlanta 89
Washington 76 FINAL
New York 80
Chicago 74 FINAL
San Antonio 92
Seattle 74 FINAL
Tulsa 80
Los Angeles 69 FINAL
Phoenix 90
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question