Jason Gonzalez has covered an array of sports at all levels over the last six years. He learned ice hockey, however, long before — during the 2002 Winter Olympic Games in Salt Lake City, Utah (his hometown). He got a close up look of legendary Gophers alum Herb Brooks and other Minnesota hockey greats. Jason is nearing two years with the Star Tribune.

Follow Jason on Twitter @JGonStrib

Email to talk Gophers.

Wilcox leads array of Gophers' Big Ten hockey season honors, voted Player of the Year

Posted by: Jason Gonzalez Updated: March 17, 2014 - 5:45 PM

The regular-season champion Gophers nearly swept Big Ten hockey’s top individual honors on Monday afternoon.

Gophers sophomore goaltender Adam Wilcox was named the conference’s inaugural Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year. Defenseman Mike Reilly was the Defensive Player of the Year. Don Lucia claimed Coach of the Year.

Five other Gophers were recognized on the All-Big Ten Team. Forward Kyle Rau earned Second Team, while forwards Hudson Fasching and Sam Warning, and defensemen Ben Marshall and Brady Skjei were Honorable Mentions. Fasching was also named to the All-Freshman Team.

Senior co-captain Nate Condon was one of six Sportsmanship Award honorees.

Wilcox defied tradition by claiming the top-player award. He leads the Big Ten and ranks third nationally with 23 wins (23-4-6), a .934 save percentage, and 1.91 goals-against average. He gave up just 30 goals in 18 conference games. His save percentage is a single-season record for the Gophers.

Reilly not only helped lead the Big Ten’s top defense, but played a big role in the Gophers’ offense. He led all conference defensemen with 29 points (eight goals, 21 assists) and ranked among the nation’s top 10 scoring defensemen.

Lucia guided the Gophers to a program-best three consecutive regular-season championships as they transition into the new hockey conference. The Gophers finished with a 25-5-6 record and 14-3-3-0 Big Ten record to claim the regular-season trophy.  

It’s Lucia’s fourth Coach of the Year honor (Western Collegiate Hockey Association Coach of the Year 1994, 1996, 2006) in his 15th season leading the Gophers.

Rau led the Gophers in scoring this season with 33 points (11 goals, 22 assists) capped by Friday night’s overtime game-winning goal against Michigan that clinched the Big Ten title. 

Fasching led Big Ten freshmen with 12 goals and was second in points with 28. Michigan’s JT Compher was the Freshman of the Year.

2013-14 All-Big Ten Hockey Team
As selected by Big Ten coaches and Media Voting Panel

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota


GOALTENDER OF THE YEAR: Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: JT Compher, F, Michigan

COACH OF THE YEAR: Don Lucia, Minnesota

Ryan Dzingel, F, Ohio State
Michael Mersch, F, Wisconsin
Mark Zengerle, F, Wisconsin
Mike Reilly, D, Minnesota
Jake McCabe, D, Wisconsin
Adam Wilcox, G, Minnesota

JT Compher, F, Michigan
Kyle Rau, F, Minnesota
Nic Kerdiles, F, Wisconsin
Mac Bennett, D, Michigan
Frankie Simonelli, D, Wisconsin
Joel Rumpel, G, Wisconsin

Andrew Copp, F, Michigan
Alex Guptill, F, Michigan
Greg Wolfe, F, Michigan State
Hudson Fasching, F, Minnesota
Sam Warning, F, Minnesota

Jake Chelios, D, Michigan State
Ben Marshall, D, Minnesota
Brady Skjei, D, Minnesota

Jake Hildebrand, G, Michigan State

JT Compher, F, Michigan
Hudson Fasching, F, Minnesota
Nick Schilkey, F, Ohio State
Michael Downing, D, Michigan
Drew Brevig, D, Ohio State
Christian Frey, G, Ohio State 

Luke Moffatt, Michigan; Greg Wolfe, Michigan State; Nate Condon, Minnesota; Tanner Fritz, Ohio State; David Glen, Penn State; Frankie Simonelli, Wisconsin 

Note: I'll be hosting a Gophers hockey live chat on Wednesday at 2 p.m. If you have any questions you want me to track down in advance, email them to me. Thanks.


Buffalo 12/28/14 12:00 PM
New England
Cleveland 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Dallas 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Indianapolis 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Jacksonville 12/28/14 12:00 PM
San Diego 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
NY Jets 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Philadelphia 12/28/14 12:00 PM
NY Giants
New Orleans 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Carolina 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Detroit 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay
Oakland 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Arizona 12/28/14 3:25 PM
San Francisco
St. Louis 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Cincinnati 12/28/14 7:30 PM
Washington 102 FINAL
New York 91
Oklahoma City 114 FINAL
San Antonio 106
Cleveland 91 FINAL
Miami 101
LA Lakers 93 FINAL
Chicago 113
Golden State 86 FINAL
LA Clippers 100
DePaul 69 FINAL
Loyola Marymount 72
Ohio 58 FINAL
Nebraska 71
Colorado 66 FINAL
Hawaii 69
George Washington 60 FINAL
Wichita State 54
Central Mich 48 FINAL
Western Ky 49
Fresno State 6 FINAL
Rice 30
Illinois 12:00 PM
Louisiana Tech
Rutgers 3:30 PM
North Carolina
NC State 7:00 PM
Cincinnati 12/27/14 12:00 PM
Virginia Tech
Duke 12/27/14 1:10 PM
(15) Arizona State
Miami-Florida 12/27/14 2:30 PM
So Carolina
Boston College 12/27/14 3:30 PM
Penn State
(25) Nebraska 12/27/14 7:00 PM
(24) USC
Texas A&M 12/29/14 1:00 PM
West Virginia
Oklahoma 12/29/14 4:30 PM
(18) Clemson
Arkansas 12/29/14 8:00 PM
Notre Dame 12/30/14 2:00 PM
(22) LSU
(13) Georgia 12/30/14 5:45 PM
(20) Louisville
Maryland 12/30/14 9:00 PM
(9) Ole Miss 12/31/14 11:30 AM
(6) TCU
(21) Boise State 12/31/14 3:00 PM
(12) Arizona
(8) Miss State 12/31/14 7:00 PM
(10) Georgia Tech
(19) Auburn 1/1/15 11:00 AM
(17) Wisconsin
(7) Michigan State 1/1/15 11:30 AM
(4) Baylor
(16) Missouri 1/1/15 12:00 PM
(2) Florida State 1/1/15 4:00 PM
(3) Oregon
(5) Ohio State 1/1/15 7:30 PM
(1) Alabama
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters


Gophers Football Time W L Score
2014 season     
Aug 28 - vs. E. Illinois 6 pmX42-20
Sep 6 - vs. M. Tennessee St. 2:30 pmX35-24
Sep 13 - at TCU 3 pmX30-7
Sep 20 - vs. San Jose St. 3 p.m.X24-7
Sep 27 - at Michigan 2:30 pmX30-14
Oct 11 - vs. Northwestern 11 amX24-17
Oct 18 - vs. Purdue 11 amX39-38
Oct 25 - at Illinois 11 amX28-24
Nov 8 - vs. Iowa 11 amX51-14
Nov 15 - vs. Ohio State 11 amX31-24
Nov 22 - at Nebraska 11 amX28-24
Nov 29 - at Wisconsin 2:30 pmX34-24
Jan 1 - vs. Missouri noon




question of the day

Poll: What's your favorite Gophers football uniform colors?

Weekly Question