MSU Mankato routs Harding in Division II playoffs

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 16, 2014 - 12:40 AM

Minnesota State Mankato extended its winning streak to 14 games by beating the Harding Bisons 97-56 on Saturday in a Central Region first-round game of the NCAA Division II men’s basketball tournament in Mankato.

Senior Tanner Adler scored a game-high 24 points for the host Mavericks (30-4). Junior Zach Monaghan added 18 points and eight assists, while senior Gage Wooten had 17 points.

No. 9 MSU pulled away from the Bisons (15-15) by making 17 three-point shots, a single-game high. Adler was 6-for-10 on threes.

MSU Mankato also set a single-season record with 293 made shots from behind the arc.

Harding of Searcy, Ark., was led by Hayden Johnson with 19 points and five rebounds.

The victory ties coach Matt Margenthaler with Dan McCarrell for the most coaching wins in Minnesota State Mankato history with 284.

The Mavericks will play Northwest Missouri State (23-8) at 7:30 p.m. Sunday in the second round.

Northwest Missouri State 98, Winona State 77: The Bearcats made 11 three-pointers to outscore the Warriors and end their season.

Riley Bambenek and Isaiah Gray led Winona State (26-8) with 16 points apiece, but the Warriors only shot 39.3 percent to the Bearcats’ 61.5 percent.


Concordia (St. Paul) 85, Central Missouri 60: The Golden Bears upset the third seed in the Central Regional in Searcy, Ark., behind Anika Whiting’s career-high 32 points. Teammate Rachel Hansen added 22.

Concordia will play top seed Emporia (30-3) at 7 p.m. Monday for a spot in the Elite Eight in Erie, Pa.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Los Angeles - LP: P. Maholm 7 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 12
San Francisco - WP: G. Kontos 9 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: J. Manship 6
Texas - LP: N. Tepesch 1 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: J. Francis 2
Boston - LP: J. Peavy 3 FINAL
Toronto - WP: J. Happ 7
Miami - WP: J. Turner 6 FINAL
Atlanta - LP: M. Minor 5
San Diego - LP: E. Stults 0 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: K. Hendricks 6
Cincinnati - LP: S. LeCure 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: F. Rodriguez 4
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 8 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: Y. Pino 2
Kansas City - WP: B. Chen 7 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: S. Carroll 1
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 7 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: A. Wainwright 2
Washington - WP: C. Stammen 7 FINAL
Colorado - LP: B. Brown 4
Detroit - LP: P. Coke 4 FINAL
Arizona - WP: E. De La Rosa 5
Houston - WP: D. Downs 3 FINAL
Oakland - LP: F. Abad 2
Baltimore - WP: M. Gonzalez 4 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: M. Morin 2
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: E. Ramirez 1
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Tulsa 93 FINAL
San Antonio 95
Atlanta 108 FINAL
Minnesota 112
Indiana 57 FINAL
Chicago 60
Phoenix 89 FINAL
Seattle 71
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question