Gophers' heavyweight Nelson seeded first in NCAA meet

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 13, 2014 - 6:49 AM

Senior Tony Nelson of the Gophers was seeded No. 1 at heavyweight for the NCAA wrestling meet March 20-22 in Oklahoma City, Okla. Nelson, 26-4, won his third Big Ten individual title on Sunday and is the two-time defending NCAA champion.

Seven other Gophers in the national meet were top-10 seeds: Nick Dardanes is second at 149 pounds; Scott Schiller is fourth at 197; Chris Dardanes, Nick’s brother, is sixth at 141; Logan Storley is sixth at 174; Kevin Steinhaus is seventh at 184; David Thorn is eighth at 133, and Dylan Ness is ninth at 157.

U diver advances

Matt Barnard of the Gophers finished second in platform diving on Wednesday in the NCAA Zone D Diving Championships at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center. He qualified for the men’s national meet March 27-29 in Austin, Texas. Barnard, a freshman from Brisbane, Australia, totaled 821.45 points.

Minnesota’s Sarah McCrady finished third (610.75), falling one spot short of advancing to the NCAA women’s meet next week in the Gophers’ pool.



• St. Cloud State, the regular-season National Collegiate Hockey Conference champion, had three players named to the first-year league’s all-conference teams. Forward Nic Dowd was named to the all-conference first team, goalie Ryan Faragher to the second team and goalie Charlie Lindgren, of Lakeville, to the all-rookie team. Two Omaha forwards from Minnesota also were recognized. Josh Archibald, of Brainerd, was named first-team all-conference, and Jake Guentzel, of Woodbury, was picked for the all-rookie team.

• Gophers senior Zack Chase was named one of nine finalists for the Nissen-Emery Award, the top honor in men’s college gymnastics.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Houston - LP: D. Keuchel 0 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: B. McCarthy 3
Cleveland - LP: C. Kluber 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 4
Detroit - LP: D. Price 0 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 1
Arizona - LP: O. Perez 0 FINAL
Washington - WP: R. Soriano 1
San Francisco - LP: R. Vogelsong 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: T. Wada 2
Atlanta - WP: J. Teheran 8 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: D. Holmberg 0
LA Angels - WP: M. Shoemaker 2 FINAL
Boston - LP: R. De La Rosa 0
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 5 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: T. Wood 3
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 1 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: C. Kershaw 2
Pittsburgh 21 FINAL
Philadelphia 31
Carolina 6:30 PM
New England
NY Giants 6:30 PM
NY Jets
Jacksonville 6:30 PM
Oakland 7:00 PM
Green Bay
Chicago 9:00 PM
Tampa Bay 8/23/14 3:30 PM
Tennessee 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Dallas 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Washington 8/23/14 6:30 PM
New Orleans 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Minnesota 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Kansas City
St. Louis 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Houston 8/23/14 8:00 PM
San Diego 8/24/14 3:00 PM
San Francisco
Cincinnati 8/24/14 7:00 PM
(21) Texas A&M 8/28/14 5:00 PM
(9) So Carolina
Wake Forest 8/28/14 6:00 PM
Boise State 8/28/14 7:00 PM
(18) Ole Miss
Tulane 8/28/14 7:00 PM
Temple 8/28/14 8:15 PM
Rutgers 8/28/14 9:00 PM
Washington St
Weber State 8/28/14 9:30 PM
(19) Arizona State
Montreal 7:30 PM
Toronto 8/23/14 3:00 PM
Calgary 8/24/14 2:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/24/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 8/29/14 6:30 PM
Winnipeg 8/31/14 2:00 PM
Toronto 9/1/14 12:00 PM
Edmonton 9/1/14 3:30 PM
Washington 73 FINAL
Indiana 78
San Antonio 84 FINAL
Minnesota 88
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which football team will have the best record in 2014?

Weekly Question