U swimmers win third consecutive Big Ten title

  • Article by: JOE CHRISTENSEN , Star Tribune
  • Updated: February 22, 2014 - 10:45 PM

Minnesota won its third consecutive Big Ten title, leaving Indiana and Penn State in its wake.

Kierra Smith grew up in Canada, paying little attention to Big Ten sports, so it’s taken her a while to grasp the significance of the recent Gophers swimming and diving accomplishments.

The Gophers won their third consecutive Big Ten title Saturday night at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center, riding the strength of several big performances, and none bigger than Smith’s.

The sophomore from Kelowna, B.C., won the 200-yard breaststroke Saturday after winning the 100 breaststroke one night earlier.

“This is the most pride I’ve ever felt,” Smith said. “I’m so happy to be a Gopher. I’m so glad I had the team and the hometown crowd here.”

Like last year, there wasn’t much suspense in the team competition, as the Gophers racked up 760 points, well ahead of second-place Indiana (649) and third-place Penn State (484).

“We’ve been fortunate,” the Gophers’ Kelly Kremer said shortly before being named Big Ten Coach of the Year. “I had a couple coaches come up and say, ‘To do this three times in this conference is really incredible.’”

The Gophers won 10 of 21 events last year to win the event by 160 points. This year, they won just five events but pulled away with their depth.

Besides Smith, the Gophers took home titles in 3-meter diving (Maggie Keefer), platform diving (Sarah McCrady) and the 800 freestyle relay (Tori Simenec, Lauren Votava, Jessica Plant and Kiera Janzen).

Keefer was named Big Ten Co-Diver of the Championships, along with Purdue’s Casey Matthews. Wisconsin’s Ivy Martin took home Big Ten Swimmer of the Year honors after winning the 50 and 100 freestyle.

Minnesota received some key second-place finishes from Sam Harding (500 and 1,650 freestyle), Becca Weiland (50 freestyle), Plant (200 freestyle), Keefer (1-meter diving) and in the 400 freestyle relay (Votava, Weiland, Erin Caflisch and Blake Zeiger).

“The team championships are about a team effort, and everybody got involved to make this happen,” Kremer said.

Smith is the latest in a line of breaststroke champions for the Gophers. Jillian Tyler won four Big Ten titles in the 100, and Haley Spencer won three conference titles in the 200. Those two also claimed NCAA titles along the way.

When told that the Gophers have now had a breaststroke champion at seven consecutive Big Ten meets, Smith said, “I wasn’t aware of that until I read it yesterday. I was like, ‘I’m glad I didn’t mess that up.’”

Smith said she picked Minnesota because of the success Tyler had, coming from Didsbury, Alberta to the Gophers and eventually the Olympics.

“She’s someone I always looked up to growing up in Canada,” Smith said. “So following in her footsteps was too good of an opportunity to pass up.”

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Houston 1 FINAL
Miami 1
Philadelphia 1 FINAL
Minnesota 7
St. Louis 3 FINAL
Detroit 4
Baltimore - WP: T. Wilson 10 FINAL
NY Yankees - LP: S. Baker 2
Boston 9 FINAL
Tampa Bay 6
Toronto 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh 8
Atlanta 5 FINAL
Toronto 3
Washington 2 FINAL
NY Mets 10
Chicago Cubs 5 FINAL
Cincinnati 9
San Diego 3 FINAL
Texas 2
San Francisco 9 FINAL
Seattle 8
Colorado 4 FINAL
Chicago Cubs 18
Cleveland 3 FINAL
Milwaukee 2
Oakland 10 FINAL
Chicago WSox 4
Los Angeles 5 FINAL
LA Angels 4
Kansas City 10 FINAL
Arizona 5
Atlanta 100 FINAL
Charlotte 115
New York 60 4th Qtr 8:19
Chicago 95
Golden State 48 3rd Qtr
Milwaukee 38
Oklahoma City 40 2nd Qtr 6:32
Utah 33
Denver 9:00 PM
Nashville 4 FINAL
Washington 3
Arizona 2 FINAL
Pittsburgh 3
San Jose 3 FINAL(SO)
Philadelphia 2
Anaheim 3 FINAL
NY Islanders 2
NY Rangers 2 FINAL
Boston 4
Tampa Bay 0 FINAL
Detroit 4
New Jersey 1 FINAL
Carolina 3
Florida 2 1st OT 3:05
Montreal 2
Ottawa 3 FINAL(OT)
Toronto 4
Los Angeles 1 3rd Prd
Minnesota 2
Columbus 3 3rd Prd
St. Louis 2
Buffalo 0 2nd Prd
Colorado 2
Dallas 9:00 PM
Arizona 78 FINAL
Wisconsin 85
Canisius 73 FINAL
Notre Dame 31 2nd Half
Kentucky 31
San Jose 1 FINAL
New England 2
Orlando City 2 FINAL
Montreal 2
Los Angeles 0 FINAL
D.C. 1
Sporting Kansas City 1 FINAL
New York City 0
Red Bull New York 2 FINAL
Columbus 1
Portland 1 2nd Half 7:00
Vancouver FC 1
Colorado 0 2nd Half 39:00
Houston 0
Seattle 0 2nd Half 32:00
FC Dallas 0
Texas 54 FINAL
(1) Connecticut 105
Dayton 82 FINAL
(8) Louisville 66
(16) Duke 55 FINAL
(4) Maryland 65
Gonzaga 69 FINAL
(6) Tennessee 73
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who is your favorite team in the NCAA men's hockey tournament?

Weekly Question