Minnesota State Mankato loses 2012 NSIC football titles after appeal denied

  • Updated: January 31, 2014 - 9:04 PM

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference’s board of directors on Friday denied Minnesota State Mankato’s appeal of an earlier NSIC decision to nullify the Mavericks’ 2012 overall and South Division football championships for a secondary NCAA rules violation.

The violation involved two student-athletes who repeated a course in the spring 2012 semester and it was self-reported. The NCAA imposed a $2,500 fine on MSU Mankato for the infraction. The NSIC applied nullification penalties to games in which the two student-athletes played.

So now instead of winning the 2012 NSIC overall and South Division football titles, Minnesota State Mankato, with its appeal rejected, will finish fourth overall — Minnesota Duluth will be the champion — and second in its division behind Winona State.

United’s preseason set

Minnesota United FC will go on the road for preseason tests against Major League Soccer’s L.A. Galaxy and three matches in England. United will play the Galaxy twice on its eight-day trip to the West Coast starting Feb. 23. It will play Derby County FC and two undetermined opponents on an English tour March 8-18.

• The NASL team signed defender Tiago Calvano, 32, who has played in five countries.


• Lynx forward Maya Moore, who recently had 43 points in a Shanxi (18-3) loss, was named to the North team for the Women’s Chinese Basketball Association’s All-Star game on Feb. 9.

News Services

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Philadelphia - WP: A. Harang 5 FINAL
Washington - LP: J. Zimmermann 3
Atlanta - LP: S. Marimon 5 FINAL
Toronto - WP: B. Cecil 6
Chicago WSox - WP: C. Sale 12 FINAL
Detroit - LP: A. Sanchez 3
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 4 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: P. Hughes 2
Cincinnati - LP: H. Bailey 2 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: C. Martinez 5
San Diego - LP: C. Kimbrel 6 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: Z. Rosscup 7
Baltimore - WP: C. Tillman 4 FINAL
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 1
Milwaukee - LP: K. Lohse 2 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: J. Locke 6
Miami - LP: M. Latos 4 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 5
LA Angels - LP: C. Wilson 0 FINAL
Houston - WP: D. Keuchel 4
NY Yankees - WP: M. Tanaka 9 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: J. Odorizzi 0
Oakland - WP: J. Hahn 5 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: Y. Ventura 0
Arizona - LP: R. De La Rosa 1 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: C. Heston 4
Colorado - LP: J. Lyles 3 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: Z. Greinke 6
Texas - LP: C. Lewis 1 FINAL
Seattle - WP: F. Hernandez 3
Washington 93 FINAL
Toronto 86
New Orleans 99 FINAL
Golden State 106
Milwaukee 91 FINAL
Chicago 103
Dallas 108 FINAL
Houston 118
Minnesota 1 FINAL
St. Louis 4
Detroit 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay 5
Pittsburgh 4 FINAL
NY Rangers 3
Winnipeg 1 FINAL
Anaheim 2
Houston 1 FINAL
D.C. 1
Orlando City 0 FINAL
Columbus 3
Toronto FC 2 FINAL
FC Dallas 3
Seattle 3 FINAL
Colorado 1
Vancouver FC 1 FINAL
Real Salt Lake 0
Sporting Kansas City 1 FINAL
Los Angeles 2
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Does it bother you that Tyus Jones chose Duke over Minnesota?

Weekly Question