No. 10 seed Gophers volleyball will play host to first two rounds of NCAA tournament

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: December 1, 2013 - 11:40 PM

Gophers volleyball coach Hugh McCutcheon.

Photo: Richard Sennott, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


The Gophers volleyball team will play host to the first and second rounds of the NCAA playoffs for the fifth time in six years.

The Gophers (27-6), who will be making their 15th consecutive appearance in the tournament, will entertain Radford (25-9) at the Sports Pavilion at 7 p.m. Friday.

The Gophers are the No. 10 overall seed for the 64-team field, which was announced on Sunday.

Iowa State (18-9) and Colorado (17-13) will meet in the other first-round match in Minneapolis at 4:30 p.m. Friday. The two winners will meet on Saturday to advance to the Lexington (Ken.) Regional.

At the regional, the Minneapolis winner will face the winner of Alabama/Oklahoma and Hampton/Stanford. Stanford is the No. 7 overall seed.

Texas is the No. 1 overall seed, followed by Big Ten champion Penn State (No. 2), No. 3 Washington and No. 4 Missouri.

The four regionals (the other three are Los Angeles; Champaign, Ill.; and Lincoln, Neb.) will be held Dec. 13-14. Regional winners will advance to the NCAA championships in Seattle on Dec. 19.

The Gophers lost to Penn State in a regional final last season.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Atlanta - LP: J. Teheran 2 FINAL
Philadelphia - WP: C. Hamels 9
Washington 0 FINAL
Miami 8
Boston 4 FINAL
Minnesota 4
Detroit 2 FINAL
Houston 3
Toronto - WP: C. Hynes 9 FINAL
Boston - LP: D. Hinojosa 7
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Norberto 3 FINAL
NY Yankees - LP: C. Whitley 0
St. Louis 5 FINAL
NY Mets 4
Los Angeles 4 FINAL
Kansas City 4
LA Angels 1 FINAL
Oakland 4
San Diego 8 FINAL
Chicago WSox 2
Chicago WSox 12 FINAL
Seattle 4
Cleveland 2 FINAL
San Francisco 5
Milwaukee 7 FINAL
Chicago Cubs 11
Arizona 3 FINAL
Cincinnati 0
Texas 4 FINAL
Colorado 10
Pittsburgh 3 FINAL
Baltimore 3
Detroit 78 FINAL
Charlotte 102
Philadelphia 93 FINAL
Washington 106
San Antonio 103 FINAL
Orlando 91
Indiana 87 FINAL
Boston 100
Brooklyn 100 FINAL
New York 98
Chicago 91 FINAL
Milwaukee 95
Dallas 135 FINAL
Oklahoma City 131
Sacramento 111 FINAL
Houston 115
Toronto 113 FINAL
Minnesota 99
Denver 84 FINAL
Utah 98
LA Clippers 126 FINAL
Portland 122
New Orleans 108 4th Qtr 2:31
LA Lakers 88
Toronto 3 FINAL
Buffalo 4
Philadelphia 4 FINAL
Pittsburgh 1
Edmonton 1 FINAL
Anaheim 5
Colorado 0 3rd Prd 13:39
San Jose 1
Loyola-Chicago 63 FINAL
ULM 62
Michigan 65
Temple 58 FINAL
West Virginia 66
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who are you rooting for in the NCAA Final Four?

Weekly Question