Playing on in postseason football: three from the NSIC and one from the MIAC

  • Updated: November 18, 2013 - 7:33 AM

Three NCAA Division II football teams from the NSIC as well as the champions of the Division III MIAC and UMAC received national tournament assignments on Sunday.

NSIC champion Minnesota State Mankato (11-0) and at-large teams Minnesota Duluth (10-1) and St. Cloud State (10-1) will play in the 24-team Division II field, and Bethel (10-0) and St. Scholastica (9-1) are in the 32-team Division III field.

Second-ranked MSU Mankato was named the No. 2 seed for the six-team Super Region 3. The Mavericks and top-seeded Northwest Missouri State have first-round byes. Fourth-seeded Minnesota Duluth will play host to No. 5 seed Emporia State on Saturday, while sixth-seeded St. Cloud State will play at No. 3 seed Henderson State.

Bethel received a No. 1 seed in one of the four eight-team Division III regionals. The Royals, the MIAC champs, will play host to UMAC champ St. Scholastica, which earned its third consecutive playoff berth, on Saturday.

Here is the bracket for the Division II tournament.

Here is the Division III bracket.

St. Thomas and Concordia (Moorhead), who tied for second place in the MIAC, were passed over, ending the Tommies’ streak of four consecutive playoff appearances. St. Thomas reached the Division III championship game last season.

WIAC champion Wisconsin-Whitewater and at-large Wisconsin-Platteville are also in the field.

Also, Southwest Minnesota State accepted an invitation to play in the 48th Mineral Water Bowl on Dec. 7 in Excelsior Springs, Mo. The Mustangs’ opponent will be Pittsburg State (Kan.) from the Mid-American Intercollegiate Athletics Association.


  • related content

  • Reusse: The Paint Bucket remains in Macalester's hands

    Sunday November 17, 2013

    Macalester College is headed for a new league, a move that could endanger rivalry that dates to 1887. Tentative 2014 schedule does have teams playing in second week of season.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Pittsburgh - LP: F. Liriano 0 FINAL
Cincinnati - WP: J. Cueto 4
Tampa Bay - LP: J. Odorizzi 0 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: M. Gonzalez 3
Chicago Cubs - LP: J. Hammel 0 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: M. Tanaka 3
St. Louis - LP: J. Kelly 1 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: W. Peralta 5
NY Mets - WP: D. Gee 5 FINAL
Arizona - LP: B. McCarthy 2
Atlanta 0 Bottom 2nd Inning
Philadelphia 0
Chicago Cubs 0 Top 2nd Inning
NY Yankees 0
Cleveland 1 Top 2nd Inning
Detroit 1
Washington 0 Bottom 2nd Inning
Miami 0
Seattle - F. Hernandez 7:05 PM
Texas - Y. Darvish
Boston - C. Buchholz 7:10 PM
Chicago WSox - J. Danks
Kansas City - J. Guthrie 7:10 PM
Houston - D. Keuchel
Toronto 0 Postponed
Minnesota 0
Oakland - T. Milone 9:05 PM
LA Angels - T. Skaggs
Colorado - J. De La Rosa 9:10 PM
San Diego - A. Cashner
Los Angeles - P. Maholm 9:15 PM
San Francisco - R. Vogelsong
Chicago 21 2nd Qtr
Charlotte 16
Indiana 19 1st Qtr 1:59
Orlando 18
Atlanta 7:00 PM
Dallas 7:00 PM
Detroit 7:00 PM
Oklahoma City
Houston 7:00 PM
New Orleans
LA Lakers 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Brooklyn 7:00 PM
Philadelphia 7:00 PM
Utah 7:00 PM
Washington 7:00 PM
Toronto 7:00 PM
New York
Golden State 9:30 PM
LA Clippers 9:30 PM
Phoenix 9:30 PM
Montreal 1 1st Prd 8:49
Tampa Bay 1
Columbus 6:30 PM
Dallas 9:00 PM
Philadelphia 6:30 PM
Red Bull New York
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Grade the Gophers men's hockey season

Weekly Question