Chart: A look at the new Big Ten hockey conference

  • Updated: September 19, 2013 - 10:23 PM


Gophers men’s hockey beat writer Jason Gonzalez takes a look at the six teams in the new Big Ten men’s hockey conference, in order of predicted finish by the conference coaches:

1. Wisconsin: Experience is the Badgers’ edge. Wisconsin has nine seniors and seven juniors, the most it’s had since the 2009-2010 Frozen Four team. Coach Mike Eaves hopes the combination repeats itself for another deep run.

2. Gophers: Small but skilled and speedy is the way co-captain Nate Condon described the team. The lack of size shouldn’t be a problem for the Gophers, though. Kyle Rau said the smaller Gophers play much bigger.

3. Michigan: Michigan has a lot to prove after missing the NCAA tournament for the first time since 1991. The Wolverines made improvements in the second half of last season and hope that a change at goalie will lead to more success.

T-4. Michigan State: The Spartans hope the start of Big Ten hockey will help return a winning tradition to the hockey program. Coach Tom Anastos said he expects the program to move into the top half of the conference soon.

T-4. Ohio State: The Buckeyes are eager to get their national sports brand more exposure on ice. The Big Ten Network will help achieve this, but it will be up to Ohio State’s depth to show the Buckeyes can perform among better conference competition.

6. Penn State: The newcomers are just happy to be here. Coach Guy Gadowsky said he and his team has a lot of catching up to do and possibly could have used another year as an independent. The Nittany Lions hope to build on wins against Wisconsin, Ohio State and Michigan State last season.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Atlanta - WP: E. Stults 4 FINAL
Detroit - LP: J. Chamberlain 2
Washington - LP: X. Cedeno 2 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: M. Wacha 6
Philadelphia 4 FINAL
Pittsburgh 18
Baltimore 6 FINAL
Tampa Bay 6
Miami - LP: D. Haren 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: R. Montero 7
San Diego 6 FINAL
Cincinnati 3
San Francisco 5 FINAL
Chicago Cubs 8
Colorado 2 FINAL
Oakland 11
LA Angels - LP: N. Tropeano 3 FINAL
Seattle - WP: T. Walker 5
Cleveland 4 FINAL
Chicago WSox 1
Kansas City 11 FINAL
Texas 7
Los Angeles 4 FINAL
Arizona 2
Toronto 7 FINAL
Houston 4
Minnesota - LP: C. Johnson 2 FINAL
Boston - WP: J. Masterson 14
Boston 116 FINAL
Charlotte 104
LA Lakers 113 FINAL
Philadelphia 111
Houston 96 FINAL
Toronto 99
Milwaukee 88 FINAL
Atlanta 101
Sacramento 83 FINAL
Memphis 97
Utah 104 FINAL
Minnesota 84
Phoenix 86 FINAL
Portland 109
Tampa Bay 5 FINAL
Montreal 3
Vancouver 4 FINAL
St. Louis 1
Calgary 5 FINAL
Dallas 3
Los Angeles 1 FINAL
Chicago 4
Edmonton 4 FINAL
Colorado 1
Buffalo 4 FINAL
Arizona 1
Loyola-Chicago 65
Dayton 70 FINAL
(1) Connecticut 91
(6) Tennessee 48 FINAL
(4) Maryland 58
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who are you rooting for in the NCAA Final Four?

Weekly Question