Chart: Other small-college programs that have struggled

  • Article by: PATRICK REUSSE , Star Tribune
  • Updated: August 17, 2013 - 7:08 PM

Here are four other local small-college football programs that have struggled to win:

Minnesota State Moorhead

History: Ross Fortier coached the Dragons for 23 seasons (1970-92), with nine Northern Intercollegiate Conference titles, seven NAIA playoff appearances and a record of 152-80-4. The move to NCAA Division II with the Northern Sun started in Fortier’s final season. The Dragons won a Northern Sun title in 1995, but they have been underfinanced with scholarships and have struggled mightily in recent years. They are 5-36 in conference play in the past four seasons, with four of the victories over Minnesota-Crookston.

Coach Steve Laqua (third season): “We have steadily increased scholarships. We’ll be at 20 next year. The conference maximum is 28, so we’ll be right in the hunt. We have 95 players in fall camp, which is where we want to be with our numbers. We started eight freshmen on offense last season. We’re still building … but headed in the right direction.”

Minnesota Crookston

History: The small University of Minnesota branch in Crookston granted its first four-year degrees in 1994. Crookston played football in the NAIA North Dakota College Athletic Conference from 1995 to ’98, with an 11-13 conference record. The Golden Eagles moved to the Division II Northern Sun in 1999 and have a conference record of 20-104.

Coach Mike Fritze (interim for Paul Miller, who has taken a one-year leave for medical reasons): “We’re a small campus. We see that as an advantage. You graduate from school here, your degree is from the University of Minnesota. Our motto is, ‘Small campus; big degree.’ ... We have 80 players, including 30 newcomers. There is hope, and that may be the strongest emotion of all.”


History: The Fighting Scots and football futility have been synonymous since the 50-game losing streak from 1974 to 1980. It remains the national record for Division III. The Scots were 6-110 in MIAC games from 1989 through 2001, before opting for an independent schedule. Macalester is 35-68 in 11 seasons as an independent. The Scots will play football only in the Midwest Conference — with other smaller, very strong academic institutions — starting in 2014.

Coach Tony Jennison (sixth season, after being promoted from defensive coordinator when Glenn Caruso moved to St. Thomas): “Independent status was one factor in stabilizing the program, but the largest impact in my opinion has been support from the administration. Macalester built one of the nation’s largest Division III athletic facilities a few years ago. As a smaller school, we could’ve gotten by with less, but I believe the administration wanted to make a statement that the student-athlete experience is important at Macalester. And moving to a conference will mean a great deal for us, because our players will be competing for something more than pride.”


History: Carleton was a member of the Midwest Conference for six decades, before joining the MIAC in the fall of 1983. St. Olaf, the Knights’ Northfield rival, had made the switch to the MIAC in 1974. In 1977, Carleton spiced up the rivalry by hosting the “Liter Bowl” — the only U.S. football game to be played with metric measurements. St. Olaf won 43-0. Carleton won the MIAC in 1992. In 2008, Carleton went into the last weekend tied with St. John’s. The Johnnies scored with 16 seconds left to win the game — as they have all 30 games played vs. Carleton. The Knights are 5-27 in the MIAC (with three wins over Hamline) since that near-miss.

Coach Bob Pagel (second season; 2012 was as an interim after Kurt Ramler resigned in January): “Numbers continue to be a challenge for us. We need a bigger roster than our current 60. Realistically, I think we can get to 80-85 in a couple more years. Academic standards continue to keep us fishing in a small pond, but it’s not an excuse. One thing that does help everyone in our league that doesn’t happen at Carleton is transfers. Carleton admitted seven transfers last year and none were athletes. The teams at the top of the MIAC really benefit from guys ‘coming down’ from scholarship schools.”

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Kansas City - WP: J. Guthrie 3 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: T. Hudson 2
Detroit 10/26/14 8:30 AM
Buffalo 10/26/14 12:00 PM
NY Jets
St. Louis 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
Houston 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Minnesota 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Seattle 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Baltimore 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Miami 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 10/26/14 12:00 PM
New England
Philadelphia 10/26/14 3:05 PM
Oakland 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Indianapolis 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay 10/26/14 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Washington 10/27/14 7:30 PM
New Orleans 10/30/14 7:25 PM
Dallas 117 FINAL
Orlando 92
New York 80 FINAL
Toronto 83
San Antonio 87 FINAL
Houston 96
Miami 104 FINAL
Memphis 98
Minnesota 113 FINAL
Chicago 112
Phoenix 105 FINAL
Utah 100
Sacramento 93 FINAL
LA Lakers 92
Denver 112 FINAL
Golden State 119
Portland 99 FINAL
LA Clippers 89
Dallas 3 FINAL(SO)
New Jersey 2
Tampa Bay 4 FINAL
Winnipeg 2
Vancouver 3 FINAL
Colorado 7
Carolina 3 FINAL
Edmonton 6
Columbus 1 FINAL
Anaheim 4
Connecticut 21 FINAL
(18) East Carolina 31
Miami-Florida 30 FINAL
Virginia Tech 6
So Florida 17 FINAL
Cincinnati 34
Troy 13 FINAL
South Alabama 27
Boise State 55
(6) Oregon 59 FINAL
California 41
North Texas 11:00 AM
UAB 11:00 AM
Rutgers 11:00 AM
(16) Nebraska
Maryland 11:00 AM
Texas 11:00 AM
(11) Kansas State
Minnesota 11:00 AM
Memphis 11:00 AM
North Carolina 11:30 AM
San Jose St 12:00 PM
Northern Ill 12:00 PM
Eastern Mich
(25) UCLA 1:00 PM
Akron 1:00 PM
Ball State
Massachusetts 1:00 PM
Ohio U 1:00 PM
Western Mich
Ga Southern 1:00 PM
Georgia State
Kent State 1:30 PM
Oregon State 2:30 PM
Fla Atlantic 2:30 PM
(23) Marshall
Louisiana Tech 2:30 PM
Southern Miss
(1) Miss State 2:30 PM
Georgia Tech 2:30 PM
(22) West Virginia 2:30 PM
Oklahoma State
Texas Tech 2:30 PM
(10) TCU
Michigan 2:30 PM
(8) Michigan State
Boston College 2:30 PM
Wake Forest
Central Mich 2:30 PM
Vanderbilt 3:00 PM
Old Dominion 3:00 PM
Western Ky
UNLV 3:00 PM
Utah State
Temple 4:00 PM
(15) Arizona 5:00 PM
Washington St
Texas-El Paso 6:00 PM
TX-San Antonio
Wyoming 6:00 PM
Colorado State
Syracuse 6:00 PM
(21) Clemson
Texas State 6:00 PM
(3) Ole Miss 6:15 PM
(24) LSU
(4) Alabama 6:30 PM
So Carolina 6:30 PM
(5) Auburn
(13) Ohio State 7:00 PM
Penn State
(20) USC 9:00 PM
(19) Utah
(14) Arizona State 9:45 PM
Nevada 10:59 PM
(2) Florida State 10/30/14 6:30 PM
Troy 10/30/14 6:30 PM
Ga Southern
Cincinnati 10/31/14 7:00 PM
Tulsa 10/31/14 7:00 PM
Purdue 11/1/14 2:00 AM
(16) Nebraska
(17) Oklahoma 11/1/14 2:00 AM
Iowa State
Oklahoma State 11/1/14 2:00 AM
(11) Kansas State
(10) TCU 11/1/14 2:00 AM
(22) West Virginia
Texas 11/1/14 2:00 AM
Texas Tech
Northwestern 11/1/14 2:00 AM
Maryland 11/1/14 2:00 AM
Penn State
Houston 1 FINAL
Chicago 2
Montreal 23 FINAL
Ottawa 17
Saskatchewan 27 FINAL
Calgary 40
Hamilton 3:00 PM
Brt Columbia 6:00 PM
Hamilton 10/31/14 6:30 PM
Winnipeg 11/1/14 3:00 PM
Brt Columbia 11/1/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 11/2/14 11:00 AM
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters


Date/Opponent Time W L Score
2014 season     
Aug 28 - vs. E. Illinois 6 pmX42-20
Sep 6 - vs. M. Tennessee St. 2:30 pmX35-24
Sep 13 - at TCU 3 pmX30-7
Sep 20 - vs. San Jose St. 3 p.m.X24-7
Sep 27 - at Michigan 2:30 pmX30-14
Oct 11 - vs. Northwestern 11 amX24-17
Oct 18 - vs. Purdue 11 amX39-38
Oct 25 - at Illinois 11 am
Nov 8 - vs. Iowa TBA
Nov 15 - vs. Ohio State TBA
Nov 22 - at Nebraska TBA
Nov 29 - at Wisconsin TBA




question of the day

Poll: Who wins and loses in football this weekend?

Weekly Question