Gophers baseball team secures spot in Big Ten tournament at Target Field

  • Updated: May 18, 2013 - 9:38 PM

The Gophers baseball team secured the fourth seed in this week’s six-team Big Ten tournament at Target Field with a 2-0 victory over Illinois on Saturday at Siebert Field.

Lefthander D.J. Snelten (5-1) pitched eight shutout innings in the Gophers’ regular-season finale, and Billy Soule picked up his ninth save by getting three outs in the ninth.

Ryan Abrahamson had two hits and the game-winning RBI.

With the victory, the Gophers ended a three-game losing streak. They were 11-3 in the Big Ten before a 1-6 slump put their postseason hopes in jeopardy.

Minnesota (30-20, 13-8 Big Ten) will make its 28th conference tournament appearance, the most in Big Ten history. The Gophers also lead the conference with nine Big Ten tournament titles and 11 runner-up finishes.

Wednesday’s tournament opener will be a rematch with Illinois.

Indiana (40-13, 17-7) won its first Big Ten championship since 1949 and is the No. 1 seed for the first time in the tournament’s history.

Ohio State earned the No. 2 seed and will have the other first-round bye.


  • related content

  • Big Ten baseball tournament info

    Saturday May 18, 2013

    Big Ten baseball tournamentWhen: Wednesday-SaturdayWhere: Target FieldFormat: Six-team field; double-elimination; top two seeds get first-round byeSeeds: 1. Indiana, 2. Ohio...

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Miami - LP: B. Morris 4 FINAL
Washington - WP: M. Grace 6
NY Yankees - LP: C. Martin 1 FINAL
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 3
Philadelphia - WP: A. Harang 5 FINAL
Atlanta - LP: A. Wood 2
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 5 FINAL
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 1
Los Angeles - LP: C. Hatcher 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: M. Blazek 4
Chicago Cubs - LP: P. Strop 9 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: M. Socolovich 10
Oakland - LP: J. Hahn 7 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 8
Texas - WP: K. Kela 2 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 1
Arizona 0 Postponed
Colorado 0
Seattle - WP: F. Hernandez 3 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: M. Shoemaker 2
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 0 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 2
Chicago 99 FINAL
Cleveland 92
LA Clippers 117 FINAL
Houston 101
NY Rangers 0 FINAL
Washington 1
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Does it bother you that Tyus Jones chose Duke over Minnesota?

Weekly Question