Gophers softball beats Nebraska, will play Wisconsin for Big Ten title

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: May 11, 2013 - 11:32 PM

The Gophers beat host Nebraska 1-0 on Saturday in the semifinals of the Big Ten softball tournament in Lincoln. Catcher Kari Dorle drove in the only run on a single off the left-field wall in the bottom of the sixth inning.

Sara Moulton pitched a four-hitter and got out of her toughest jam in the top of the sixth, when the Cornhuskers loaded the bases with one out, with a strikeout and groundout.

The Gophers (35-16) will play Wisconsin at noon Sunday for the conference title and an automatic NCAA bid. They have won the title only once, in 1999. The Badgers upset top-seeded Michigan 9-3 in the other semifinal.

Minnesota, No. 31 in the latest RPI rankings, is probably already assured of a spot in the NCAA tournament when the 64-team field is announced at 9 p.m. Sunday on ESPNU.

Gophers men 1-4 in 800

Gophers senior Travis Burkstrand won the 800-meter run on Saturday in the Big Ten track and field championships in Columbus, Ohio. His time was 1 minute, 47.56 seconds. Teammate Harun Abda, also a senior, took fourth in 1:49.07.

Freshman Wally Ellenson took third in the high jump by clearing 6-11½. Ellenson, a two-time Wisconsin high school state champion from Rice Lake, played on the men’s basketball team at Minnesota this past season. He was a 6-4 backup guard.

• Junior Megan Geyen placed third in the 400 in 53.72 seconds. The Gophers also had three athletes place fourth, junior Te’Shon Adderly in the 800 in 2:07.55, senior Emily Betz in the javelin, throwing 151-2, and junior Katie Moraczewski in the 3,000 steeplechase in 10:14.07. Laura Docherty of the Gophers finished second in the 10,000 late Friday. The junior’s time was 34:13.21.

U loses to tennis power

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Miami - LP: M. Dunn 1 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: D. Carpenter 3
Arizona - WP: T. Cahill 7 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: P. Strop 5
San Francisco - WP: J. Machi 12 FINAL
Colorado - LP: C. Bettis 10
Texas - WP: M. Perez 3 FINAL
Oakland - LP: S. Gray 0
Houston - LP: J. Fields 3 FINAL
Seattle - WP: F. Rodney 5
Cincinnati - WP: A. Simon 5 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: C. Morton 2
LA Angels - LP: E. Frieri 4 FINAL
Washington - WP: D. Storen 5
Kansas City - LP: K. Herrera 3 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: B. Shaw 5
Baltimore - WP: C. Tillman 10 FINAL
Toronto - LP: T. Redmond 8
Chicago WSox - WP: A. Rienzo 6 FINAL
Detroit - LP: E. Reed 4
St. Louis - LP: M. Wacha 2 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. Niese 3
Minnesota - WP: C. Fien 6 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: J. Lueke 4
NY Yankees - LP: M. Pineda 1 FINAL
Boston - WP: J. Lackey 5
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 2 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: K. Lohse 5
Philadelphia - LP: C. Hamels 2 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: Z. Greinke 5
Charlotte 97 FINAL
Miami 101
Dallas 113 FINAL
San Antonio 92
Portland 112 FINAL
Houston 105
Pittsburgh 3 FINAL(OT)
Columbus 4
Anaheim 2 FINAL
Dallas 4
St. Louis 3 FINAL(OT)
Chicago 4
Houston 0 FINAL
Red Bull New York 4
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Grade the Gophers men's hockey season

Weekly Question