Minnesota Scene: St. Thomas wins 10th MIAC softball title in a row

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: May 6, 2013 - 6:53 AM


Top-seeded St. Thomas completed a 5-0 run through the MIAC softball tournament with an 8-1 victory over Bethel in Sunday’s championship game in North Mankato, Minn.

Tommies shortstop Jenna Hoffman slugged two home runs, including a three-run blast, and a double among her four hits in the final, and pitchers Morgan Murphy and Kendra Bowe combined to allow one unearned run, six hits and no walks. Murphy got the victory, the 26th in a row for the Tommies (37-5).

St. Thomas has won the title in all 10 years of the event.

Bethel (28-15), which also finished runner-up to the Tommies in the regular season and lost 8-0 to St. Thomas on Saturday, reached Sunday’s final by defeating host Gustavus Adolphus, the No. 5 seed, 5-2 earlier Sunday.

U drops finale at PSU

The Gophers baseball team lost 4-3 to Penn State in 10 innings in their series finale in State College, Pa.

The Nittany Lions’ Taylor Skerpon beat a throw to first on a bases-loaded fielder’s choice in the 10th for the winning run.

The Gophers had failed to score after loading the bases with no outs in the top of the 10th. Andy Henkemeyer had two of Minnesota’s seven hits.

U softball rallies for win

Erica Meyer’s infield hit drove in the winning run, capping a two-run rally in the seventh that gave the Gophers a 5-4 softball victory over Indiana at Cowles Stadium.

The Gophers tied the score when Kaitlyn Richardson singled home Tyler Walker, who had singled and advanced to third on a throwing error on Karli Dorle’s sacrifice attempt.


• Kendall Palfi pitched a four-hitter and first baseman Amanda Orrell went 3-for-4 with three RBI to lift Dakota County Technical College to a 7-2 victory over host Williston (N.D.) State in the championship game of the NJCAA Region 13 softball tournament. It is the first softball championship of any kind for DCTC, which advances to a three-team playoff Wednesday and Thursday in Fort Dodge, Iowa, for an opportunity to play in the NJCAA Softball World Series.

• Gustavus Adolphus won its third consecutive MIAC men’s tennis championship and automatic NCAA Division III tournament berth with an 8-1 victory over Carleton in St. Peter, Minn. Carleton, seeded second in the women’s tournament, made it back-to-back MIAC tennis titles with a 5-0 victory over St. Thomas. The NCAA field will be announced Monday.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


St. Louis - L. Lynn 12:05 PM
Washington - J. Zimmermann
Toronto - M. Buehrle 12:05 PM
Cleveland - C. Kluber
LA Angels - C. Wilson 12:08 PM
Detroit - M. Scherzer
Baltimore - B. Norris 12:35 PM
Boston - F. Doubront
Minnesota - K. Correia 1:10 PM
Kansas City - B. Chen
Cincinnati - T. Cingrani 1:20 PM
Chicago Cubs - E. Jackson
Houston - B. Oberholtzer 3:05 PM
Oakland - S. Kazmir
Milwaukee - M. Garza 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - W. Rodriguez
Atlanta - E. Santana 6:10 PM
NY Mets - B. Colon
NY Yankees - I. Nova 6:10 PM
Tampa Bay - C. Archer
Seattle - R. Elias 6:10 PM
Miami - H. Alvarez
Chicago WSox - J. Quintana 7:05 PM
Texas - C. Lewis
Philadelphia - K. Kendrick 7:10 PM
Colorado - J. Lyles
Arizona - M. Bolsinger 7:10 PM
Los Angeles - D. Haren
San Francisco - T. Hudson 7:40 PM
San Diego - E. Stults
Brooklyn 9 1st Qtr 5:56
Toronto 11
Golden State 2:30 PM
LA Clippers
Atlanta 6:00 PM
Memphis 8:30 PM
Oklahoma City
Chicago 2:00 PM
St. Louis
Columbus 6:00 PM
Minnesota 8:30 PM
Houston 3:00 PM
New England 3:00 PM
San Jose 5:00 PM
Los Angeles 6:00 PM
Vancouver FC
D.C. 6:30 PM
Toronto FC 7:30 PM
FC Dallas
Montreal 7:30 PM
Sporting Kansas City
Portland 8:30 PM
Real Salt Lake
Seattle 9:30 PM
Chivas USA
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Grade the Gophers men's hockey season

Weekly Question