Badgers upset St. Cloud State 4-1, blow into WCHA title game

  • Article by: RACHEL BLOUNT , Star Tribune
  • Updated: March 23, 2013 - 12:30 AM

The No. 14 Badgers upset No. 7 St. Cloud State 4-1 in the semifinals of the WCHA Final Five, stretching their winning streak to five games


St. Cloud State’s Drew LeBlanc, right, and Wisconsin’s Frankie Simonelli collided along the boards in the first period of Friday night’s WCHA Final Five semifinal game at Xcel Energy Center.

Photo: JIM MONE • Associated Press ,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


At the beginning of December, Wisconsin coach Mike Eaves had no illusions of making the NCAA tournament.

“We were just trying to win a hockey game,’’ Eaves said of the Badgers, who won only one of their first 10 games. “We were just trying to turn this ship around and get some wind at our back.’’

That became a full-fledged gale Friday.

The No. 14 Badgers upset No. 7 St. Cloud State 4-1 in the semifinals of the WCHA Final Five, stretching their winning streak to five games and making the tournament’s title game for the first time since 2000. Though the Badgers (21-12-7) were outshot 31-21, Joel Rumpel stopped 30 shots, and John Ramage and Nic Kerdiles teamed up for two power-play goals at Xcel Energy Center.

Ramage’s goal from the slot gave the Badgers a 2-1 lead at 2:08 of the second period. They got a five-minute power play when the Huskies’ Tim Daly was penalized for checking from behind, and 13 seconds later, Kerdiles tipped in Ramage’s shot from the point.

St. Cloud State dropped from a tie for seventh in the PairWise Rankings — which predict the field for the NCAA tournament — to a tie for 11th, endangering its chances of getting into the 16-team NCAA field. Wisconsin, tied for 17th, likely will have to win the Final Five title to get in.

“St. Cloud State had the tempo and the pace and really came at us hard,’’ said Eaves, whose team is on a 20-5-5 run since Nov. 30. “Joel let us get our feet under us.’’

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Houston 1 FINAL
Miami 1
Philadelphia 1 FINAL
Minnesota 7
St. Louis 3 FINAL
Detroit 4
Baltimore - WP: T. Wilson 10 FINAL
NY Yankees - LP: S. Baker 2
Boston 9 FINAL
Tampa Bay 6
Toronto 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh 8
Atlanta 5 FINAL
Toronto 3
Washington 2 FINAL
NY Mets 10
Chicago Cubs 5 FINAL
Cincinnati 9
San Diego 3 FINAL
Texas 2
San Francisco 9 FINAL
Seattle 8
Colorado 4 FINAL
Chicago Cubs 18
Cleveland 3 FINAL
Milwaukee 2
Oakland 10 FINAL
Chicago WSox 4
Los Angeles 5 FINAL
LA Angels 4
Kansas City 10 FINAL
Arizona 5
Atlanta 100 FINAL
Charlotte 115
New York 80 FINAL
Chicago 111
Golden State 108 FINAL
Milwaukee 95
Oklahoma City 89 FINAL
Utah 94
Denver 114 FINAL
Portland 120
Nashville 4 FINAL
Washington 3
Arizona 2 FINAL
Pittsburgh 3
San Jose 3 FINAL(SO)
Philadelphia 2
Anaheim 3 FINAL
NY Islanders 2
NY Rangers 2 FINAL
Boston 4
Tampa Bay 0 FINAL
Detroit 4
New Jersey 1 FINAL
Carolina 3
Florida 2 FINAL(OT)
Montreal 3
Ottawa 3 FINAL(OT)
Toronto 4
Los Angeles 1 FINAL
Minnesota 4
Columbus 4 FINAL
St. Louis 2
Buffalo 3 FINAL
Colorado 5
Dallas 4 FINAL(OT)
Vancouver 3
Arizona 78 FINAL
Wisconsin 85
Canisius 73 FINAL
Notre Dame 66 FINAL
Kentucky 68
San Jose 1 FINAL
New England 2
Orlando City 2 FINAL
Montreal 2
Los Angeles 0 FINAL
D.C. 1
Sporting Kansas City 1 FINAL
New York City 0
Red Bull New York 2 FINAL
Columbus 1
Portland 1 FINAL
Vancouver FC 2
Colorado 0 FINAL
Houston 0
Seattle 0 FINAL
FC Dallas 0
Texas 54 FINAL
(1) Connecticut 105
Dayton 82 FINAL
(8) Louisville 66
(16) Duke 55 FINAL
(4) Maryland 65
Gonzaga 69 FINAL
(6) Tennessee 73
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who is your favorite team in the NCAA men's hockey tournament?

Weekly Question