U women in postseason again, this time against Ball State in WNIT

  • Updated: March 19, 2013 - 12:10 AM

Shayne Mullaney and the Gophers women’s basketball team qualified for a postseason tournament for the second year in a row.

Photo: File photo by MARLIN LEVISON • mlevison@startribune.com ,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

The Gophers women’s basketball team will play host to Ball State on Friday in the first round of the WNIT.

The game time will be announced Tuesday.

“We are excited to be playing in March and we are looking forward to getting our young team more postseason experience,” Gophers coach Pam Borton said. “Our first game is at home and we have an exciting team to watch, so we look forward to seeing our fans back at the Barn on Friday night.”

The Gophers (18-13) last played on March 7 when they lost to Ohio State 58-47 in the first round of the Big Ten tournament in Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Ball State (15-15), which went 12-4 in the Mid-American Conference regular season, lost to Akron 70-61 in the MAC semifinals on March 15.

The Gophers and Ball State have met just once. Ball State defeated the Gophers 79-70 in the Gophers’ 1999-2000 season opener.

The Gophers, who haven’t made the NCAA tournament since 2009, won the Women’s Basketball Invitational postseason tournament last year.

The Gophers, who are making their ninth postseason appearance in 11 seasons, last played in the WNIT in 2007.

The winner of Friday’s game will play the winner of the Northern Iowa-Marquette game. Those teams play Friday in Milwaukee.

Second-round games in the 64-team tournament will be played Saturday through Monday.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - LP: T. Bauer 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: A. Swarzak 3
Cincinnati - LP: M. Leake 1 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: K. Lohse 5
Kansas City - WP: W. Davis 2 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: Z. Putnam 1
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 4 FINAL
Colorado - WP: J. De La Rosa 6
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: T. Walker 2
Detroit - WP: A. Sanchez 11 FINAL
Arizona - LP: T. Cahill 5
Los Angeles - LP: D. Haren 1 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: F. Liriano 6
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 3 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: J. Papelbon 1
Texas - LP: Y. Darvish 1 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: D. Phelps 2
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 4 FINAL
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 6
Miami - LP: N. Eovaldi 1 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: E. Santana 6
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 3 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: L. Lynn 0
San Diego - WP: I. Kennedy 8 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: T. Wada 3
Houston - LP: B. Peacock 7 FINAL
Oakland - WP: J. Chavez 9
Baltimore - LP: T. Hunter 2 FINAL
LA Angels - WP: J. Weaver 3
Chicago 1 FINAL
San Jose 5
Calgary 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 75 FINAL
Washington 89
New York 66 FINAL
Los Angeles 64
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question