Eight Gophers wrestlers seeded among top 11 for NCAA meet

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 14, 2013 - 12:34 AM

Gophers redshirt junior Tony Nelson, the defending heavyweight champion, was seeded No. 2 on Wednesday in the NCAA wrestling championships which will be held March 21-23 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa.

The Gophers, for the first time since 2005, have a wrestler at every weight and seven of the nine others also are seeded between fifth and 11th. Fifth are☺Chris Dardanes at 133 pounds and Kevin Steinhaus at 184, sixth are Dylan Ness at 149 and Logan Storley at 174, eighth is Chris’ brother Nick at 141, 10th is Scott Schiller at 197 and 11th is Cody Yohn at 165.

Unranked Gophers in the tournament are David Thorn at 125 pounds and Daniel Zilverberg at 157. Thorn has an especially tough opening match. He faces No. 1 seed Alan Waters (29-0) of Missouri.

Nelson, who won the Big Ten title for the second year in a row, is 28-1. Nelson had a 41-match winning streak before losing to to Missouri’s Dominique Bradley in the Southern Scuffle finals on Jan. 2. Bradley is 35-1 and the top seed at heavyweight.


• Four divers for the Gophers have qualifed for the NCAA swimming and diving championships later this month in Indianapolis, Ind. Maggie Keefer and Sarah McCrady made the cut for the women at NCAA Zone D diving while Mikey Ross and Jordan Lesser advanced from the men’s field.

• The Gophers lost 10-9 in 11 innings to Nebraska Omaha in baseball at the Metrodome. Three players for Minnesota (11-6) hit home runs: Andy Henkemeyer, Matt Halloran and Michael Handel. UNO (2-7) rallied after trailing 8-3.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Philadelphia - LP: K. Kendrick 2 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: Z. Wheeler 11
Milwaukee - WP: Y. Gallardo 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: D. Price 0
Arizona - WP: W. Miley 5 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: A. Simon 4
Washington - WP: T. Roark 4 FINAL
Miami - LP: B. Hand 3
Oakland - LP: J. Hammel 1 FINAL
Houston - WP: D. Keuchel 8
Pittsburgh - LP: J. Wilson 5 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: J. Machi 7
LA Angels - LP: G. Richards 3 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: K. Gausman 4
Seattle - LP: F. Hernandez 0 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: C. Kluber 2
Chicago WSox - LP: H. Noesi 2 FINAL
Detroit - WP: M. Scherzer 7
Toronto - WP: M. Buehrle 6 FINAL
Boston - LP: B. Workman 1
Colorado - WP: R. Scahill 6 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: W. Wright 4
NY Yankees - LP: H. Kuroda 2 FINAL
Texas - WP: C. Lewis 3
Minnesota - LP: P. Hughes 2 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: J. Frasor 3
Atlanta - LP: D. Hale 2 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: J. Howell 3
St. Louis - LP: J. Kelly 1 FINAL
San Diego - WP: J. Hahn 12
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Toronto FC 0 FINAL
D.C. 3
Colorado 0 FINAL
New England 3
Vancouver FC 0 FINAL
Chicago 0
Red Bull New York 1 FINAL
Real Salt Lake 1
Winnipeg 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/7/14 7:30 PM
Edmonton 8/8/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 8/8/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 8/9/14 6:30 PM
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question