St. Cloud wrestlers take second in NCAA Division II meet

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 9, 2013 - 11:37 PM

For the third year in a row, St. Cloud State finished second in the NCAA Division II national wrestling championships in Birmingham, Ala.

The Huskies, hoping for their first national team title in any sports, finished with 104 points — four points behind Nebraska-Kearney.

St. Cloud State did win an individual national title. Senior Shamus O’Grady, of Coon Rapids, defeated Dallas Smith of Ouachita Baptist 12-2 in the 184-pound final. He was second the past two years.

O’Grady improved his record to 40-1 record, tying the school record for most wins in a season previously held by Tad Merritt. He ends his collegiate career as a four-time all-american wrestler with an overall record of 108-28.

Two other Huskies, seniors Andy Pokorny of Bennington, Neb., and Jacob D. Horn of Ephrata, Wash., were national runners-up.

Pokorny lost to Daniel DeShazer of Nebraska-Kearney 7-5 at 133 pounds. He finished 24-3 record. It was the second time DeShazer has lost in the championship match.

Horn lost 4-3 to Raufeon Stots of Nebraska-Kearney at 149 pounds. Horn, a two-time all-american, ended his season 18-8.

Huskies heavyweight Jacob Kahnke placed third.

Nebraska-Kearney has finished ahead of SCSU three years in a row now. And this year, the Huskies barely got second place, edging Notre Dame College of Ohio by one half of a point.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Washington 0
Pittsburgh 7 FINAL
Detroit 3
Miami 3 FINAL
St. Louis 2
Boston - WP: K. Couch 11 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: C. Reavis 8
NY Yankees - LP: M. Tanaka 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: T. Milone 3
Tampa Bay 4 FINAL
Baltimore 3
Philadelphia 6 FINAL
Toronto 10
Chicago Cubs 15 FINAL
Texas 10
Cincinnati - WP: M. Lorenzen 10 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: M. Fiers 4
Colorado 3 FINAL
San Francisco 4
Chicago WSox 2 FINAL
Los Angeles 1
Seattle 6 FINAL
Cleveland 8
Oakland - WP: J. Fuller 13 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: B. Loconsole 10
Texas 7 FINAL
Arizona 8
Houston 8 FINAL
Atlanta 5
Kansas City 4 FINAL
San Diego 1
Atlanta 95 FINAL
Detroit 105
Indiana 106 FINAL
Brooklyn 111
San Antonio 95 FINAL
Miami 81
Golden State 110 FINAL
LA Clippers 106
New Jersey 2 FINAL(OT)
Columbus 3
Carolina 2 FINAL
Washington 4
Florida 2 FINAL
Boston 3
Ottawa 2 FINAL(SO)
Detroit 1
Tampa Bay 1 FINAL
Toronto 3
NY Rangers 3 FINAL
Winnipeg 2
Vancouver 5 FINAL(SO)
Nashville 4
UT Martin 66 FINAL
Evansville 79
Miami-Florida 60 FINAL
Temple 57
Northern Ariz 68
Stanford 67 FINAL
Old Dominion 60
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Who are you rooting for in the NCAA Final Four?

Weekly Question