Gophers wrestlers focus on Big Ten championships

  • Article by: JOE CHRISTENSEN , Star Tribune
  • Updated: March 9, 2013 - 12:44 AM

As happy as the Gophers were to win the National Duals, they now turn their attention to the Big Ten championships.

Gophers 184-pound wrestler Kevin Steinhaus, left, is seeded second at this year’s Big Ten championships. Steinhaus won a Big Ten title a year ago as the Gophers finished second in the conference.


CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


Gophers wrestling coach J Robinson was as thrilled as anyone when his team knocked off Iowa and Oklahoma State on Feb. 23 to win the National Duals.

The full-team competitions showed off the depth of the Gophers roster, but that part of the season’s over. It’s time for individual wrestlers to shine, starting at this weekend’s Big Ten Championships in Champaign, Ill., with qualifiers advancing to the NCAA Championships in two weeks.

“The one thing that every kid wants to be is an NCAA champion,” Robinson said. “In the end, it’s an individual sport, and that’s kind of the prize at the end.”

Last year, Gophers heavyweight Tony Nelson and 184-pounder Kevin Steinhaus won Big Ten titles, helping the team pile up enough points for a second-place finish behind Penn State.

It was the Nittany Lions’ second consecutive conference title, and they are favored again this year. Penn State was the only Top 8 team to skip the National Duals, but it has three No. 1 seeds for the Big Tens in David Taylor (165 pounds), Ed Ruth (184) and Quentin Wright (197), and a No. 2 seed in Nico Megaludis (125).

For comparison, the Gophers have two No. 1 seeds — Nelson and Logan Storley (174) — and four No. 2 seeds in Nick Dardanes (141), Dylan Ness (149), Steinhaus (184) and Scott Schiller (197).

“We can’t worry about Penn State and what they’re going to do,” Robinson said. “We have to worry about us. We need to win the close matches and get bonus points. And that has to be kind of the rallying cry for the weekend.”

Penn State, Minnesota, Iowa and Ohio State are all teams to watch. Those are the only four squads with a wrestler seeded in each of the 10 weight classes.

Iowa has two No. 1 seeds in Matt McDonough (125) and Derek St. John (157), as does Ohio State in Logan Stieber (133) and Hunter Stieber (141).

The Gophers haven’t won the Big Ten team championship since 2007, the same year they won their last NCAA title. This season, they went 16-2 in dual meets, finishing No. 1 in the final USA Today coaches’ poll.

They didn’t lose after their 16-15 setback to Iowa on Jan. 26.

“After that … we really kicked into a new gear, training wise,” Storley said. “The Dardanes [Chris and Nick] are back wrestling better than ever. To have [125-pounder David] Thorn and all our lighter weights back at 100 percent really makes a big difference.”

“Ness has gone up 10 levels from the Southern Scuffle [Jan. 2] to now,” Storley added. “I think everyone’s feeling good, and we’re all coming together at the same time.”

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


New England 14 4th Qtr 12:10
Seattle 24
Miami 83 FINAL
Boston 75
LA Lakers 80 FINAL
New York 92
Arizona 3 FINAL
Montreal 2
St. Louis 4 FINAL
Washington 3
Nashville 4 FINAL
Pittsburgh 0
Minnesota 4 FINAL
Vancouver 2
Miami-Florida 54 FINAL
Florida State 55
Oakland 96 FINAL
Youngstown St 80
Cincinnati 46 FINAL
East Carolina 50
Michigan 66 FINAL
Michigan State 76
Marist 75 FINAL
Canisius 67
Fordham 77 FINAL
Dayton 101
Manhattan 87 FINAL
Monmouth 76
Quinnipiac 100 FINAL
Niagara 105
Utah 67 FINAL
USC 39
Connecticut 68 FINAL
Houston 70
California 90 FINAL
Washington 88
North Dakota St 64 FINAL
Western Ill 62
Penn State 65 FINAL
(22) Rutgers 76
(14) Texas 59 FINAL
TCU 64
Coll of Charleston 49 FINAL
Towson 71
Cornell 53 FINAL
Yale 60
Xavier 68 FINAL
Providence 57
Drexel 61 FINAL
UNC-Wilmington 44
Stony Brook 60 FINAL
New Hampshire 52
Maine 52 FINAL
Albany 44
Miami-Florida 66 FINAL
Pittsburgh 81
(21) Georgia 72 FINAL
(10) Kentucky 80
Arizona 69 FINAL
Colorado 81
Wake Forest 63 FINAL
(4) Notre Dame 92
Loyola-Chicago 56 FINAL
Illinois State 72
(24) Oklahoma 69 FINAL
West Virginia 78
St Johns 73 FINAL
Seton Hall 78
Delaware 73 FINAL
Hofstra 62
Binghamton 49 FINAL
UMass Lowell 66
Vermont 49 FINAL
Hartford 60
William & Mary 72 FINAL
Northeastern 66
Boston College 60 FINAL
(16) North Carolina 72
Virginia 77 FINAL
Clemson 72
(2) Connecticut 83 FINAL
Temple 49
Arkansas 53 FINAL
Alabama 42
Virginia Tech 71 FINAL
Georgia Tech 79
Kansas 58 FINAL
(3) Baylor 66
Canisius 51 FINAL
Rider 52
Monmouth 52 FINAL
Fairfield 54
Quinnipiac 81 FINAL
Saint Peters 50
Butler 55 FINAL
Creighton 62
Wichita State 61 FINAL
Drake 64
Evansville 52 FINAL
Indiana State 67
(18) Miss State 67 FINAL
(6) Tennessee 79
Villanova 47 FINAL
DePaul 49
Georgetown 73 FINAL
Marquette 80
North Texas 55 FINAL
Rice 58
Auburn 45 FINAL
(12) Texas A&M 78
(11) Arizona State 58 FINAL
Utah 48
Missouri State 56 FINAL
Northern Iowa 64
Michigan 60 FINAL
(15) Nebraska 75
Minnesota 49 FINAL
Northwestern 70
Wisconsin 73 FINAL
Illinois 62
Bradley 59 FINAL
Southern Ill 76
Florida 67 FINAL
Vanderbilt 58
(20) Iowa 88 FINAL
(5) Maryland 93
(1) South Carolina 77 FINAL
Ole Miss 59
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which of these teams is the most frustrating to watch right now?

Weekly Question