NDSU defense stops Wofford in FCS quarterfinals

  • Updated: December 9, 2012 - 6:40 AM

FARGO, N.D. -- Sam Ojuri and Zach Vraa scored first-half touchdowns, and North Dakota State rode its top-rated defense to a 14-7 victory over Wofford on Saturday before a crowd of 18,267 in the quarterfinals of the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs.

Ojuri scored on a 1-yard run in the first quarter, capping a 10-play, 79-yard drive.

Wofford tied the score at 7-7 on Blake Wylie's 35-yard interception early in the second quarter. Standout Terriers fullback Kyle Breitenstein, the No. 2 rusher in FCS, ran for 135 yards on 24 carries. Wofford attempted only seven passes, completing six for 64 yards.

NDSU took a 14-7 lead with 62 seconds left in the opening half on Brock Jensen's 16-yard pass to Vraa. That also was a 10-play drive, covering 97 yards. Jensen completed 13 of 18 passes for 95 yards.

The No. 1-rated Bison (12-1) forced two turnovers and blocked a field goal.

The best chance the No. 9 Terriers (9-4), from Spartanburg, S.C., had at scoring a tying touchdown in a scoreless second half ended with under four minutes to play. Wofford was stopped on downs at the NDSU 6-yard line.

Grant Olson had 29 tackles for the Bison, Cole Jirek and Andre Martin Jr. recovered fumbles and Anthony LaVoy blocked a field goal.



    Up next: NDSU vs. Georgia Southern,

    Friday or Saturday (time TBA)

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Los Angeles - LP: P. Maholm 7 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 12
San Francisco - WP: G. Kontos 9 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: J. Manship 6
Texas - LP: N. Tepesch 1 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: J. Francis 2
Boston - LP: J. Peavy 3 FINAL
Toronto - WP: J. Happ 7
Miami - WP: J. Turner 6 FINAL
Atlanta - LP: M. Minor 5
San Diego - LP: E. Stults 0 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: K. Hendricks 6
Cincinnati - LP: S. LeCure 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: F. Rodriguez 4
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 8 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: Y. Pino 2
Kansas City - WP: B. Chen 7 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: S. Carroll 1
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 7 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: A. Wainwright 2
Washington - WP: C. Stammen 7 FINAL
Colorado - LP: B. Brown 4
Detroit - LP: P. Coke 4 FINAL
Arizona - WP: E. De La Rosa 5
Houston - WP: D. Downs 3 FINAL
Oakland - LP: F. Abad 2
Baltimore - WP: M. Gonzalez 4 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: M. Morin 2
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: E. Ramirez 1
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Tulsa 93 FINAL
San Antonio 95
Atlanta 108 FINAL
Minnesota 112
Indiana 57 FINAL
Chicago 60
Phoenix 89 FINAL
Seattle 71
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question