Coaches poll selects Gophers wrestling No. 1 in nation

  • Updated: November 1, 2012 - 11:34 PM

The Gophers wrestling team was voted as the preseason favorite, earning seven first-place votes for 397 points, in the USA Today/National Wrestling Coaches Association preseason poll, announced Thursday.

Four of the top five teams are Big Ten teams, six of the top 10 and eight in the top 25. Two-time defending national champion Penn State is No. 2, followed by Oklahoma State, Iowa and Ohio State.

The Gophers, who went 14-3 last season, returned all but two wrestlers to the starting lineup, including five All-Americas, Big Ten champion Kevin Steinhaus and national heavyweight champion Tony Nelson. The Gophers also welcome 12 newcomers to the roster this season.

InterMat also released its preseason NCAA poll with the Gophers tabbed as No. 3 in the tournament-strength rankings.

NCAA picks Gophers

The NCAA announced the Gophers will play host to the 2014 Division I women's swimming and diving championship, to be held March 20-22 at the University Aquatic Center.

• The NCAA also selected the Gophers as one of six institutions to host a regional competition for the 2014 women's gymnastics championships. The regional will be April 5 at the Sports Pavilion.


• Armstrong product Nicole Dooher was named NSIC Offensive Player of the Year and Bloomington Jefferson's Lauren Somers the Defensive Player of the Year, as Minnesota State Mankato swept the conference women's soccer awards. Woodbury's Caitlin Graboski was Newcomer of the Year and Peter McGahey the Coach of the Year after the Mavericks earned their first national No. 1 ranking.

• St. Olaf sophomore Grant Wintheiser and St. Thomas senior Taylor Berg were named MIAC men's and women's cross-country most valuable athletes, respectively.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Toronto - WP: A. Sanchez 5 FINAL
NY Yankees - LP: D. Robertson 4
Washington - WP: D. Fister 4 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: M. Latos 2
Arizona - LP: V. Nuno 2 FINAL
Philadelphia - WP: R. Hernandez 4
Boston - WP: A. Webster 3 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: C. Archer 2
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 2 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: J. Nelson 0
Miami - WP: J. Turner 4 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. McHugh 2
Chicago WSox - LP: R. Belisario 3 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: J. Burton 4
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 10 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: B. Chen 3
St. Louis - WP: A. Wainwright 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: K. Hendricks 0
Detroit - LP: J. Chamberlain 1 FINAL
LA Angels - WP: J. Smith 2
Pittsburgh - WP: T. Watson 7 FINAL
Colorado - LP: R. Brothers 5
Baltimore - WP: T. McFarland 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: Y. Medina 2
San Diego - LP: E. Stults 3 FINAL
Atlanta - WP: M. Minor 8
Oakland - WP: S. Kazmir 9 FINAL
Texas - LP: M. Mikolas 3
Los Angeles - WP: H. Ryu 4 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: J. Peavy 3
FC Dallas 2 FINAL
Vancouver FC 2
Portland 3 FINAL
Montreal 2
Calgary 26 FINAL
Edmonton 22
Winnipeg 23 FINAL
Brt Columbia 6
Ottawa 23 FINAL
Hamilton 33
Toronto 9 FINAL
Saskatchewan 37
Minnesota 76 FINAL
Connecticut 65
Atlanta 67 FINAL
Washington 77
Chicago 69 FINAL
Tulsa 79
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question