McCutcheon takes on his new post Thursday

  • Updated: August 29, 2012 - 12:05 AM

Hugh McCutcheon's first day on the job as Gophers volleyball coach will be Thursday, just in time for this weekend's Diet Coke Classic at the Sports Pavilion.

Photo: Jason Redmond, Dml -

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Hugh McCutcheon's first day on the job as Gophers volleyball coach will be Thursday, just in time for this weekend's Diet Coke Classic at the Sports Pavilion.

McCutcheon completed his coaching responsibilities with USA Volleyball earlier this month, guiding the U.S. women's team to a silver medal at the Olympics in London. He won gold with the men in 2008.

McCutcheon was hired as Mike Hebert's replacement on Feb. 10, 2011. Laura Bush has been the interim coach and will stay on the staff as an assistant.

The Gophers began their 2012 season last weekend with two victories in Harrisonburg, Va. Their home opener is Friday night vs. Long Island.

22-hit attack leads Saints over Gary

The St. Paul Saints scored four runs in the first inning, three on a home run by Ronnie Bourquin, and never looked back, beating the host Gary SouthShore RailCats 13-6. Bourquin, Jim Rapoport and Ole Sheldon had four hits each in the 22-hit attack. The Saints remained three games behind Winnipeg in the American Association wild-card race with six games to go.

Two tied for lead at Senior State Am

Jon Empanger (Island View Golf Club) and Mark Knutson (Hazeltine National Golf Club) were tied for the 36-hole lead going into the final round of the 91st MGA Senior Amateur Championship, being played this year at Northland Country Club in Duluth.

Empanger shot a 2-over-par 73 on Tuesday and Knutson a 75 for 5-over 147 totals. First-round leader Bill Tadewald (Bunker Hills Golf Course) shot a 78 and is two strokes back.

Those three will make up the final group on Wednesday. Their tee time is scheduled for 9:30 a.m.


Minnesota State, Mankato softball player Kendra Huettl is one of 10 finalists for the NCAA Woman of the Year award in Division II, and Carleton College distance runner Simone Childs-Walker made the final 10 in Division III. Three finalists will be named in Division I, II and III in September, and the awards will be presented Oct. 14 in Indianapolis.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Houston - LP: D. Keuchel 0 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: B. McCarthy 3
Cleveland - LP: C. Kluber 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 4
Detroit - LP: D. Price 0 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: A. Cobb 1
Arizona - LP: O. Perez 0 FINAL
Washington - WP: R. Soriano 1
San Francisco - LP: R. Vogelsong 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: T. Wada 2
Atlanta - WP: J. Teheran 8 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: D. Holmberg 0
LA Angels - WP: M. Shoemaker 2 FINAL
Boston - LP: R. De La Rosa 0
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 5 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: T. Wood 3
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 1 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: C. Kershaw 2
Pittsburgh 21 FINAL
Philadelphia 31
Carolina 6:30 PM
New England
NY Giants 6:30 PM
NY Jets
Jacksonville 6:30 PM
Oakland 7:00 PM
Green Bay
Chicago 9:00 PM
Tampa Bay 8/23/14 3:30 PM
Tennessee 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Dallas 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Washington 8/23/14 6:30 PM
New Orleans 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Minnesota 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Kansas City
St. Louis 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Houston 8/23/14 8:00 PM
San Diego 8/24/14 3:00 PM
San Francisco
Cincinnati 8/24/14 7:00 PM
(21) Texas A&M 8/28/14 5:00 PM
(9) So Carolina
Wake Forest 8/28/14 6:00 PM
Boise State 8/28/14 7:00 PM
(18) Ole Miss
Tulane 8/28/14 7:00 PM
Temple 8/28/14 8:15 PM
Rutgers 8/28/14 9:00 PM
Washington St
Weber State 8/28/14 9:30 PM
(19) Arizona State
Montreal 7:30 PM
Toronto 8/23/14 3:00 PM
Calgary 8/24/14 2:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/24/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 8/29/14 6:30 PM
Winnipeg 8/31/14 2:00 PM
Toronto 9/1/14 12:00 PM
Edmonton 9/1/14 3:30 PM
Washington 73 FINAL
Indiana 78
San Antonio 84 FINAL
Minnesota 88
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which football team will have the best record in 2014?

Weekly Question