Big Ten and the BCS

  • Updated: December 28, 2011 - 10:36 PM


The BCS started determining participants in all four major bowl games -- Rose, Orange, Sugar and Fiesta -- for the 1998-99 season. The national title game was played in those bowl games on a rotating basis.

The BCS added a fifth game for the 2006-07 season, placing teams in all four bowls, and making the national championship game a separate attraction at those sites on a rotating basis.

The Big Ten qualifies its champion automatically for a BCS game. The Big Ten has had two teams selected for 11 of the 14 BCS series, including this season -- with Wisconsin playing Oregon in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 2 and Michigan playing Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 3.

The Big Ten has tie-ins with seven other bowl games, with a pair played on the New Year's holiday carrying the largest payouts and most prestige: The Capital One Bowl in Orlando and the Outback Bowl in Tampa.

Here's a look at how Big Ten teams have done in the conference's most important bowl games since the BCS replaced the Bowl Alliance for the 1998-99 season. The years mentioned are based on the January when the games were played.

OHIO STATE: The Buckeyes have played in three national titles games (2003, 2007 and 2008) and six other BCS games in the previous 13 seasons. They also have played in two Outback Bowls.

WISCONSIN: The Badgers have played in three Rose Bowls -- 1999 (W), 2000 (W) and 2011 (L), with another set for Monday. They also have played twice in the Capital One and twice in the Outback.

MICHIGAN: The Wolverines have played in four BCS games, with a fifth scheduled next week in the Sugar Bowl. They have played four times in the Capital One and once in the Outback.

PENN STATE: The Nittany Lions have played in two BCS games. They have played twice in the Capital One and three times in the Outback Bowl.

IOWA: The Hawkeyes played in the Orange Bowl in 2003 and in 2010. They have played once in the Capital One and three times in the Outback.

MICHIGAN STATE: The Spartans played in the Capital One Bowl in 2000, in 2009 and in 2011. They will be playing in the Outback on Monday.

PURDUE: The Boilermakers played in the Rose Bowl in 2001. They also played once in the Capital One and in the Outback.

ILLINOIS: The Illini played in the Sugar Bowl in 2002 and in the Rose Bowl in 2008.

NORTHWESTERN: The Wildcats played in the Outback Bowl in 2010.

THE U, INDIANA have not played in a BCS game, a Capital One or an Outback Bowl since the BCS started with the 1998-99 season.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Atlanta - LP: J. Walden 4 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: H. Rondon 5
Washington - LP: J. Zimmermann 2 FINAL
Philadelphia - WP: A. Burnett 6
Chicago WSox - LP: H. Noesi 4 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: C. Kluber 7
NY Yankees - LP: A. Warren 2 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: T. McFarland 3
Pittsburgh - LP: T. Watson 5 FINAL
Cincinnati - WP: C. Partch 6
Miami - LP: H. Alvarez 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: Z. Wheeler 7
Toronto - WP: A. Loup 8 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: G. Balfour 5
LA Angels - WP: G. Richards 3 FINAL
Texas - LP: N. Tepesch 0
St. Louis - WP: P. Neshek 7 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: F. Rodriguez 6
Boston - WP: J. Lackey 8 FINAL
Houston - LP: S. Feldman 3
Detroit - WP: A. Sanchez 2 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: D. Duffy 1
Minnesota - LP: K. Johnson 2 FINAL
Colorado - WP: J. De La Rosa 6
San Diego - WP: J. Hahn 6 FINAL
Los Angeles - LP: D. Haren 3
Oakland - LP: J. Samardzija 2 FINAL
Seattle - WP: F. Hernandez 3
Arizona - LP: M. Bolsinger 0 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: T. Lincecum 5
San Jose 1
Winnipeg 34 FINAL
Montreal 33
Ottawa 11 FINAL
Edmonton 27
Calgary 5:30 PM
Brt Columbia 8:30 PM
Edmonton 7/17/14 7:30 PM
Toronto 7/18/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 7/18/14 9:00 PM
Montreal 7/19/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Los Angeles 68 FINAL
New York 54
Seattle 88 FINAL
San Antonio 67
Phoenix 72 FINAL
Chicago 66
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question