U repeats in Big Ten track

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: February 28, 2011 - 12:32 AM

Three Gophers athletes won individual titles Sunday on the way to the school's third consecutive men's team title at the Big Ten indoor track and field championships in Champaign, Ill.

The Gophers scored 117.33 points, just ahead of Indiana's 114.50 in the closest team race since 2003.

"Being in the heart of the battle, with the meet tight all day, it's all still kind of a blur," Gophers coach Steve Plasencia said. "I haven't appreciated that we won this thing yet, but we have the trophy. I'm happy for the team."

Ben Blankenship became the first Gopher to defend the Big Ten title in the mile, running a season-best 4:01.14. Harun Abda defended his title in the 600 meters in 1:17.35, the third-fastest time in school history. Micah Hegerle won the weight throw with a toss of 69 feet, 10¾ inches.

• The Gophers women placed third with 73 points, behind Ohio State (122.5) and Penn State (86) at the women's meet in West Lafayette, Ind.

U baseball wins

The Gophers baseball team (3-3) beat Delaware State 7-1, giving it two victories in three games at the Wake Forest tournament. Bobby Juan and Trip Schultz homered and Nick O'Shea had two RBI.


• North Dakota gained the final spot in the WCHA women's championship series at Ridder Arena with a 3-2 overtime victory over Bemidji State in Grand Forks, N.D. The Fighting Sioux will face top-seeded Wisconsin on Friday, while the third-seeded Gophers take on Minnesota Duluth.

• The No. 21-ranked Gophers women's gymnastics team finished second at in a triangular meet at UCLA, earning a 194.475. UCLA, ranked No. 9, won the meet with 196.650. No. 12 Denver was third with 193.850.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Philadelphia 2 Bottom 9th Inning
Washington 1
Seattle 1 Bottom 8th Inning
Baltimore 2
Texas 1 Bottom 6th Inning
Cleveland 12
Colorado 2 Bottom 7th Inning
Detroit 3
Cincinnati 4 Top 8th Inning
Miami 1
San Francisco - WP: R. Vogelsong 5 FINAL
NY Mets - LP: J. Niese 1
LA Angels 5 Top 6th Inning
Tampa Bay 3
NY Yankees 2 Bottom 7th Inning
Boston 3
Minnesota 5 Top 4th Inning
Chicago WSox 3
Toronto 1 Bottom 4th Inning
Houston 1
Milwaukee 2 Bottom 4th Inning
St. Louis 0
Kansas City - J. Guthrie 8:35 PM
Oakland - S. Gray
Pittsburgh - E. Volquez 8:40 PM
Arizona - V. Nuno
Atlanta - M. Minor 9:10 PM
San Diego - E. Stults
Chicago Cubs - K. Hendricks 9:10 PM
Los Angeles - D. Haren
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Indianapolis 8/7/14 6:00 PM
NY Jets
San Francisco 8/7/14 6:30 PM
New England 8/7/14 6:30 PM
Cincinnati 8/7/14 7:00 PM
Kansas City
Seattle 8/7/14 8:00 PM
Dallas 8/7/14 9:00 PM
San Diego
Philadelphia 0 2nd Half 44:55
Sporting Kansas City 0
Winnipeg 27 FINAL
Hamilton 26
Toronto 19 12:40
Montreal 5
Brt Columbia 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/7/14 7:30 PM
Edmonton 8/8/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 8/8/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 8/9/14 6:30 PM
Connecticut 67 4th Qtr 7:45
San Antonio 55
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters





question of the day

Poll: Which upcoming event are you most excited about?

Weekly Question