U.S. Open golf facts and figures

  • Updated: June 12, 2014 - 1:16 AM

When: Thursday-Sunday.

Where: Pinehurst No. 2 ( 7,562 yards/par 70), Pinehurst, N.C.

The course: This is considered the masterpiece of Donald Ross, who completed it in 1907 and continued to refine it until his death in 1948. Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw renovated No. 2 three years ago by restoring the native sandy areas that were prevalent in the 1930s and ’40s, meaning this U.S. Open effectively will have no rough. Instead, players will face lies in sandy areas covered with loose vegetation and wire brush plants.

Field: 156 players.

Cut: Top 60 and ties after 36 holes.

Playoff (if necessary): 18 holes on Monday.

Purse: TBA ($8 million in 2013).

Last year: Justin Rose won his first major championship, closing with an even-par 70 at Merion for a two-shot victory over Phil Mickelson and Jason Day. He became the first Englishman in 43 years to win the U.S. Open, finishing at 1-over 281. Mickelson had the 54-hole lead and reclaimed the lead by holing out for eagle on the 10th hole. But he made bogey twice with a wedge in his hand and closed with a 74. It was his sixth runner-up finish in the U.S. Open.

Last time at Pinehurst No. 2: Michael Campbell of New Zealand closed with a 1-under 69 for a two-shot victory over Tiger Woods. Campbell finished at even-par 280 and became the first Kiwi since Bob Charles in the 1963 British Open to win a major. Woods missed an 8-foot birdie attempt on the 16th and three-putted from 25 feet on the 17th to fall back. It was only the second time he finished runner-up in a major.

Other U.S. Open champs at Pinehurst No. 2: Payne Stewart (1999).

Let’s play two: The U.S. Women’s Open will be held the following week on Pinehurst No. 2, the first time the men’s and women’s Opens have been contested in consecutive weeks on the same golf course.


tv schedule

Thursday: 8 a.m. to 2 p.m., ESPN; 2 to 4 p.m., Ch. 11; 4 to 5 p.m., ESPN2; 5 to 6 p.m., ESPN.

Friday: 8 a.m. to 2 p.m., ESPN; 2 to 4 p.m., Ch. 11; 4 to 6 p.m., ESPN.

Saturday: 11 a.m. to 6:30 p.m., Ch. 11.

Sunday: 11 a.m. to 6:30 p.m., Ch. 11.

associated press


  • related content

  • Zach Johnson

  • Jim Furyk

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland - LP: T. Bauer 1 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: A. Swarzak 3
Cincinnati - LP: M. Leake 1 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: K. Lohse 5
Kansas City 1 Top 9th Inning
Chicago WSox 1
Washington 2 Bottom 5th Inning
Colorado 3
NY Mets 1 Top 5th Inning
Seattle 0
Detroit 6 Top 4th Inning
Arizona 0
Los Angeles - D. Haren 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - F. Liriano
San Francisco - M. Bumgarner 6:05 PM
Philadelphia - A. Burnett
Texas - Y. Darvish 6:05 PM
NY Yankees - D. Phelps
Boston - C. Buchholz 6:07 PM
Toronto - R. Dickey
Miami - N. Eovaldi 6:10 PM
Atlanta - E. Santana
Tampa Bay - A. Cobb 6:15 PM
St. Louis - L. Lynn
San Diego - I. Kennedy 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - T. Wada
Houston - B. Peacock 9:05 PM
Oakland - J. Chavez
Baltimore - C. Tillman 9:05 PM
LA Angels - J. Weaver
Chicago 9:30 PM
San Jose
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Connecticut 75 FINAL
Washington 89
New York 9:30 PM
Los Angeles
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters