Matthew wins men's state amateur golf championship

  • Article by: KELLY PARSONS , Star Tribune
  • Updated: July 18, 2013 - 12:22 AM

Sam Matthew shot rounds of 70, 70 and 72 to win the men’s state championship by one stroke.


Sam Matthew of Midland Hills Country Club beat Ben Welle by one stroke with a three-day total of 212 at Medina Golf and Country Club.


CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


Going into the 15th hole in the final round of the 110th Minnesota Golf Association Amateur Championship on Wednesday, Sam Matthew and playing partner Ben Welle were tied for the lead. Each golfer was staring at his chance to win it all.

It was on that very hole at Medina Golf and Country Club, however, that Matthew made his best case for the cup — which, later that afternoon, he accepted after finishing with a 4-under-par 212 for his three-day total.

Matthew, of Midland Hills Country Club, made his fourth birdie of the day at the 15th. Welle, who finished second with a 3-under 213, bogeyed.

“Fifteen was a turning point,” Matthew said. “It got me two shots, which was huge coming into the last couple holes. It gave me a cushion.”

Robert Bell and Andy Jacobson tied for third at 1-under 215. Wednesday’s round was the last as an amateur for Bell, who will enter the men’s State Open in two days as a professional.

Bell, who hurt himself with a triple-bogey Monday and another one Wednesday, said he is ready to make the jump.

“I didn’t have to play in [this tournament] this year, but I wanted to,” Bell said. “There’s nothing to hang my head about. I played good golf. I really wanted to win, but there’s nothing wrong with bronze.”

The tournament started Monday with 156 golfers and was narrowed down to 62 for the final round. Welle and Jacobson led at 3-under 69 going into Tuesday’s second round, while Matthew posted back-to-back 70s to go into Wednesday’s final round with the lead.

Matthew and Welle both shot even-par 72 Wednesday, making Matthew’s one-stroke advantage coming into the day a key to victory. Matthew said he was happy with his short game throughout the tournament, attributing his victory to making several significant putts.

The victory makes Matthew, 20, exempt for the State Open, in which he plans to participate if it fits into his schedule.

After accepting the first-place trophy, he appeared happily overwhelmed by all the attention he was receiving. After all, he said, it’s the biggest amateur victory of his career to date.

“It’s huge,” Matthew said. “It’s what I’ve been trying to do since I started playing golf. It’s just another step.”

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland 86 FINAL
Indiana 93
Washington 81 FINAL
Philadelphia 89
Golden State 113 FINAL
Toronto 89
New York 121 FINAL
Detroit 115
Orlando 88 FINAL
Atlanta 95
Charlotte 98 FINAL
Boston 106
LA Clippers 97 FINAL
Memphis 79
Brooklyn 98 FINAL
Houston 102
Miami 102 FINAL
New Orleans 104
Minnesota 89 FINAL
Chicago 96
Utah 104 FINAL
Denver 82
San Antonio 107 FINAL
Sacramento 96
Milwaukee 93 FINAL
LA Lakers 101
Oklahoma City 112 FINAL
Portland 115
Boston 3 FINAL(OT)
New Jersey 2
Calgary 1 FINAL
NY Islanders 2
Washington 0 FINAL
Carolina 3
Chicago 0 FINAL
Tampa Bay 4
Colorado 5 FINAL(SO)
Dallas 4
Los Angeles 2 FINAL
Anaheim 4
Siena 63 FINAL
Quinnipiac 73
Harvard 49 FINAL
Cornell 57
Penn 69 FINAL
Brown 75
Fairfield 65 FINAL
Canisius 72
Manhattan 75 FINAL
Iona 79
Saint Peters 67 FINAL
Marist 69
Princeton 60 FINAL
Yale 81
Ohio 58 FINAL
Akron 70
Dartmouth 84 FINAL
Columbia 71
Valparaiso 56 FINAL
Cleveland State 53
Louisiana Tech 75 FINAL
Texas-El Paso 88
Seton Hall 77 FINAL
Xavier 60
Cornell 54 FINAL
Harvard 60
Yale 49 FINAL
(14) Princeton 67
Elon 51 FINAL
Drexel 54
Northeastern 47 FINAL
James Madison 82
St Johns 60 FINAL
Butler 49
Creighton 71 FINAL
Georgetown 62
Brown 58 FINAL
Penn 75
Columbia 50 FINAL
Dartmouth 60
Canisius 54 FINAL
Siena 58
St Josephs Brooklyn 35 FINAL
Western Carolina 86 FINAL
UNC Greensboro 80
Colorado 66 FINAL
Arizona 51
Southern Ill 72 FINAL
Bradley 66
Drake 59 FINAL
Wichita State 80
Indiana State 71 FINAL
Evansville 53
Illinois State 53 FINAL
Loyola-Chicago 67
Northern Iowa 70 FINAL
Missouri State 72
Utah 42 FINAL
(10) Arizona State 46
Providence 62 FINAL
Villanova 71
Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters