Favre to be lone inductee into Packers' Hall of Fame in 2015

  • Article by: Staff, News Services
  • Updated: August 4, 2014 - 4:33 PM

The NFL's all-time leading passer will have his jersey retired in 2015 by Green Bay and be inducted into the team's Hall of Fame.


Brett Favre celebrated a touchdown against the Vikings in 2005.

Photo: Carlos Gonzalez, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Former Green Bay Packers quarterback Brett Favre will be the lone inductee into the team's Hall of Fame in 2015 and have his jersey retired.

The Packers made the announcement in a press conference Monday. Favre joined by teleconference.

Favre confirmed the news Sunday night on his website (officialbrettfavre.com) that he will be inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame in the summer of 2015 and have his No. 4 retired.

"It was a tremendous honor to play 16 years for the Green Bay Packers,'' Favre posted on the website. "Now to have my name placed among others such as Starr, Hornung, Kramer, Taylor, Lambeau, Nitschke, Lombardi, Davis, White and Hutson is a special honor that I share with all my teammates and coaches, and that would not have been possible but for the foresight of Ron Wolf, the greatest GM in the history of the NFL.

"I'm truly looking forward to celebrating and sharing this special moment with all the great fans of the Green Bay Packers.''

Favre, who led the Packers to the Super Bowl XXXI title following the 1996 season and another Super Bowl berth the following season, holds the NFL record for career passing yards (71,838) and touchdown passes (508), among several others. The three-time NFL MVP also started an NFL-record 297 consecutive games (321 including playoffs).

Favre, a second-round draft pick by the Atlanta Falcons in 1991, played for the Packers from 1992 to 2008. He was traded to the New York Jets in 2008, then retired after that season.

He changed his mind about retirement and then signed with the Vikings in 2009, angering many Packers fans. Favre led the Vikings to a 13-3 season and the brink of the Super Bowl, losing in the NFC Championship Game to the New Orleans Saints. Favre returned to the Vikings for the 2010 season, but he struggled and the team went 6-10.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Chicago WSox - LP: Z. Duke 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: J. Soria 2
San Diego - WP: J. Shields 5 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: B. Schlitter 4
Philadelphia - LP: S. O Sullivan 2 FINAL
Washington - WP: M. Scherzer 7
Milwaukee - LP: J. Nelson 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 6
Atlanta - WP: C. Martin 8 FINAL
Toronto - LP: B. Cecil 7
Miami - LP: B. Hand 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: B. Colon 4
Baltimore - LP: B. Matusz 2 FINAL
Boston - WP: K. Uehara 3
NY Yankees - WP: D. Betances 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: K. Jepsen 4
LA Angels - WP: C. Ramos 6 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 3
Cleveland - LP: B. Shaw 2 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: B. Boyer 3
Oakland - LP: D. Otero 4 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: W. Davis 6
Cincinnati - LP: J. Cueto 1 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: M. Wacha 6
Colorado - LP: K. Kendrick 3 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: C. Kershaw 7
Texas - WP: Y. Gallardo 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: J. Happ 1
Arizona - WP: J. Collmenter 9 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: J. Peavy 0
Ottawa 2 FINAL(OT)
Montreal 3
NY Islanders 3 FINAL
Washington 4
Chicago 2 FINAL
Nashville 6
Calgary 1 FINAL
Vancouver 4
San Jose 0 FINAL
Red Bull New York 2


question of the day

Poll: Who will be the Wild's MVP against St. Louis?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters