Minnesota Scene: Alabama driver wins Akona 240

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: June 22, 2014 - 12:21 AM

Grant Enfinger won the Akona 250 on Saturday night at Elko Speedway. Tom Hessert was the runner-up for the second year in a row in the ARCA Racing Series event, and J.J. Haley, only 15 years old, finished third.

It was Enfinger’s fourth victory of the season. The 29-year-old from Fairhope, Ala., came into the race second in the national points standings but moved into first. He had the second-fastest car in qualifying.

Wild to open with Avs

The Wild will open the 2014-15 regular season with a home-and-home series against the Colorado Avalanche, the Central Division champion the Wild beat in seven games in the first round of the Stanley Cup playoffs in April.

The teams will meet Oct. 9 at Xcel Energy Center and Oct. 11 in Denver.

Home openers were announced by league teams Saturday. The rest of the schedule is expected to be announced Sunday.

Michael Russo

Nelson reaches final

St. Paul’s Alexis Nelson won 6-4, 6-0 over Nyla Beenk on Saturday and advanced to the championship of the U.S. Open Northern Section qualifying tournament at the University of Minnesota’s Baseline Tennis Center. Nelson was ranked No. 1 in the United States for girls 16s in January.

Jessie Aney defeated Isabella Lambert 6-0, 6-2 in the other semifinal.

In the men’s semifinals, Notre Dame’s Wyatt McCoy defeated Charlie Adams 6-3, 6-3 in and Jesse Ruder-Hook beat Tucker Saxon 6-4, 6-2.


• The Rockland Boulders scored 10 runs in the sixth inning in routing the St. Paul Saints 14-5 at Midway Stadium.

• Deb Hayes won 1 up over Bernie Brown in the quarterfinals of the Minnesota Women’s PGA Match Play Championship at Phalen Park Golf Course. Other second-day, first-flight winners Saturday were Sarah Burnham, Leigh Klasse and Lynn Anderson.

• Gatorade’s boys’ track and field athlete of the year in Minnesota is Rosemount senior Payton Otterdahl.

• Mounds View senior pitcher Sam Hentges was named the Class 3A player of the year by the Minnesota State Baseball Coaches Association.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Cleveland 86 FINAL
Indiana 93
Washington 81 FINAL
Philadelphia 89
Golden State 113 FINAL
Toronto 89
New York 121 FINAL
Detroit 115
Orlando 88 FINAL
Atlanta 95
Charlotte 98 FINAL
Boston 106
LA Clippers 97 FINAL
Memphis 79
Brooklyn 98 FINAL
Houston 102
Miami 102 FINAL
New Orleans 104
Minnesota 89 FINAL
Chicago 96
Utah 104 FINAL
Denver 82
San Antonio 107 FINAL
Sacramento 96
Milwaukee 93 FINAL
LA Lakers 101
Oklahoma City 112 FINAL
Portland 115
Boston 3 FINAL(OT)
New Jersey 2
Calgary 1 FINAL
NY Islanders 2
Washington 0 FINAL
Carolina 3
Chicago 0 FINAL
Tampa Bay 4
Colorado 5 FINAL(SO)
Dallas 4
Los Angeles 2 FINAL
Anaheim 4
Siena 63 FINAL
Quinnipiac 73
Harvard 49 FINAL
Cornell 57
Penn 69 FINAL
Brown 75
Fairfield 65 FINAL
Canisius 72
Manhattan 75 FINAL
Iona 79
Saint Peters 67 FINAL
Marist 69
Princeton 60 FINAL
Yale 81
Ohio 58 FINAL
Akron 70
Dartmouth 84 FINAL
Columbia 71
Valparaiso 56 FINAL
Cleveland State 53
Louisiana Tech 75 FINAL
Texas-El Paso 88
Seton Hall 77 FINAL
Xavier 60
Cornell 54 FINAL
Harvard 60
Yale 49 FINAL
(14) Princeton 67
Elon 51 FINAL
Drexel 54
Northeastern 47 FINAL
James Madison 82
St Johns 60 FINAL
Butler 49
Creighton 71 FINAL
Georgetown 62
Brown 58 FINAL
Penn 75
Columbia 50 FINAL
Dartmouth 60
Canisius 54 FINAL
Siena 58
St Josephs Brooklyn 35 FINAL
Western Carolina 86 FINAL
UNC Greensboro 80
Colorado 66 FINAL
Arizona 51
Southern Ill 72 FINAL
Bradley 66
Drake 59 FINAL
Wichita State 80
Indiana State 71 FINAL
Evansville 53
Illinois State 53 FINAL
Loyola-Chicago 67
Northern Iowa 70 FINAL
Missouri State 72
Utah 42 FINAL
(10) Arizona State 46
Providence 62 FINAL
Villanova 71


question of the day

Poll: With Adrian Peterson's suspension overturned, what should the Vikings do?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters