Minnesota Scene: Champion expects tight race at Elko's Akona 250

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: June 20, 2014 - 9:19 PM

Frank Kimmel will try to win the Akona 250 at 8 p.m. Saturday at Elko Speedway for the second year in a row. CBS Sports Network will televise the race.

Kimmel won four races altogether last year but is winless so far in 2014 even though he is third in the ARCA Racing Series national standings behind Mason Mitchell and Grant Enfinger. Mitchell, 19, of West Des Moines, Iowa, has 17 consecutive top-10 finishes.

“We’re not done thinking we can [win] this year,” said Kimmel, who will be in car No. 44, an Ansell-Menards Win-Tron Racing Toyota.

“There are 15 cars that can win [at Elko]. That’s a lot,” said Kimmel, of Clarksville, Ind. “… On a short track, so much can happen; there are so many variables coming at you every lap. It’s intense, and it’s a blast.”

Gates at Elko will open for practice sessions beginning at 1:30 p.m. Pole qualifying will start at 5:30 p.m.

Two golf champions crowned

Patrick Vincelli edged Leif Carlson 1 up on Friday in the final of the MGA Senior Players’ Championship at Brackett’s Crossing Country Club in Lakeville. On the same course, Troy Johnson defeated Joel B. Johnson 4 and 3 to win the Mid-Players’ Championship for the second year in a row.


• Defenseman Matt Hellickson of Rogers, who has commited to Notre Dame, will join the Under-17 U.S. national development team in Ann Arbor, Mich., this season.

• Lakeville South senior Shaina Burns was named the Gatorade girls’ track and field athlete of the year in Minnesota. She won the 110-meter hurdles (14.44 seconds) and the shot put (44-feet, 10.5 inches) in the Class 2A state meet. Burns then won the heptathlon with 5,164 points last weekend at the New Balance Nationals Outdoor Championships in Greensboro, N.C.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Los Angeles - J. Beckett 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - V. Worley
San Francisco - Y. Petit 6:05 PM
Philadelphia - R. Hernandez
Texas - N. Martinez 6:05 PM
NY Yankees - C. Whitley
Boston - J. Peavy 6:07 PM
Toronto - J. Happ
Miami - J. Turner 6:10 PM
Atlanta - M. Minor
San Diego - E. Stults 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - K. Hendricks
Cincinnati - H. Bailey 7:10 PM
Milwaukee - J. Nelson
Cleveland - D. Salazar 7:10 PM
Minnesota - Y. Pino
Kansas City - B. Chen 7:10 PM
Chicago WSox - S. Carroll
Tampa Bay - J. Odorizzi 7:15 PM
St. Louis - A. Wainwright
Washington - J. Zimmermann 7:40 PM
Colorado - Y. Flande
Detroit - R. Porcello 8:40 PM
Arizona - C. Anderson
Houston - B. Oberholtzer 9:05 PM
Oakland - S. Kazmir
Baltimore - M. Gonzalez 9:05 PM
LA Angels - H. Santiago
NY Mets - J. deGrom 9:10 PM
Seattle - E. Ramirez
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Tulsa 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Atlanta 7:00 PM
Indiana 7:00 PM
Phoenix 9:00 PM





question of the day

Poll: What's your outlook for the Twins' second half?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters