This is Amelia Rayno's third season on the Gophers men's basketball beat. She learned college basketball in North Carolina (Go Tar Heels!), where fanhood is not an option. In 2010, she joined the Star Tribune after graduating from Boston's Emerson College, which sadly had no exciting D-I college hoops to latch onto. Amelia has also worked on the sports desk at the Boston Globe and interned at the Detroit News.

  Follow Rayno on Twitter @AmeliaRayno

Big Ten makes commitment to return tournament to the Midwest

Posted by: Amelia Rayno under Sports, College basketball Updated: June 5, 2014 - 1:42 PM

One month after announcing the Big Ten tournament's first ever move to the East Coast, the conference made a commitment to bring the annual event back to the Midwest.

On Thursday, the Big Ten Conference Council of Presidents and Chancellors unanimously approved a recommendation from member administrators for upcoming Big Ten basketball tournaments to once again be held in Chicago and Indianapolis.

The Council also approved a proposal to keep Indianapolis' Lucas Oil Stadium as the host of Big Ten Football Championship game through 2021.

"Those two cities have been tremendous hosts and partners with first-class facilities and an outstanding base of Big Ten alumni and fans who support conference events," Commissioner Jim Delany said in a release. "We are proud of the history that we have developed with these two great cities and look forward to maintaining a significant presence in both locations."

The Football Championship has been held in Indianapolis since its instigation, in 2011. The Big Ten men's basketball tournament has alternated between United Center in Chicago and Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis through its first 17 years of existence. 

The women's tournament will be based in Indianapolis from 2017 through 2022. United Center will host the men's basketball tournament in 2019 and 2021 and Banker's Life will get the event in 2020 and 2022 after a brief jaunt halfway across the country.

In early May, with the official conference additions of Maryland and Rutgers approaching on July 1, Delany announced an unprecedented Eastward move for the conference. In 2017, the Big Ten tournament will be held at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C.

Delany has been clear and active about his desire to extend the Big Ten's brand and financial reach to the East Coast. 

The 2015 tournament will be in Chicago, while Indianapolis will be the home in 2016. The 2018 tournament site has not yet been revealed.


Baltimore - LP: W. Chen 1 FINAL
Boston - WP: J. Masterson 7
Chicago Cubs - WP: J. Arrieta 5 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: A. Caminero 2
NY Yankees - LP: C. Sabathia 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: A. Simon 2
Cincinnati - WP: A. DeSclafani 6 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: W. Peralta 1
Cleveland - LP: C. Allen 3 FINAL
Chicago WSox - WP: D. Robertson 4
Minnesota - LP: K. Gibson 1 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: E. Volquez 7
San Diego - WP: O. Despaigne 14 FINAL
Colorado - LP: J. De La Rosa 3
Oakland - WP: D. Otero 6 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: M. Shoemaker 3
Houston - WP: T. Sipp 7 FINAL
Seattle - LP: D. Farquhar 5
Milwaukee 82 FINAL
Chicago 91
New Orleans 87 FINAL
Golden State 97
NY Rangers 2 FINAL
Pittsburgh 1
St. Louis 0 FINAL
Minnesota 3
Anaheim 5 FINAL(OT)
Winnipeg 4


question of the day

Poll: How confident are you that the Wild will win its playoff series?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters