Meet the All-Metro first team

  • Updated: March 10, 2014 - 9:17 PM

The Star Tribune’s All-Metro basketball team gathered for a group portrait Sunday afternoon. They are (from left) Wheeler Baker, Osseo; Amir Coffey, Hopkins; Player of the Year Tyus Jones, Apple Valley; Reid Travis, DeLaSalle, and J.P. Macura, Lakeville North.

Photo: Jeff Wheeler, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


Apple Valley, senior guard

Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year. The nation’s No. 1 point guard finished as the school’s career leader in points (2,909 points), assists (1,031) and steals (377) despite missing 15 games because of injury. The Duke recruit led the Eagles to a 120-27 record during his five seasons on the varsity.


Osseo, senior guard

Baker has taken his game to another level while leading a injury-riddled Orioles squad to a 22-7 record and state tournament berth. The versatile scorer finished on the break, off the dribble or from beyond the arc. The Albany recruit shot 52 percent from the field and averaged 22.1 points per game.


Hopkins, sophomore forward

The future face of Minnesota high school basketball. The son of former Gopher Richard Coffey is just starting to come into his own. He averaged 15.1 points per game but scored 27 in the Section 6 semifinals and 20 in the championship. He was a 50 percent shooter from the field and 38 from three-point land.


Lakeville North, senior guard

Macura put the Panthers on his back during the 2013-14 season. The Xavier recruit was one of the state’s most competitive players. He averaged 32.2 points and six rebounds per game for the 24-5 Panthers. The school’s career leading scorer (1,714 points) netted a career-best 55 against Farmington this year.


DeLaSalle, senior forward

Outstanding low-post scorer who continued to improve his mid-range jumper. The Stanford recruit has led the Islanders to back-to-back Class 3A championships. The 2013 Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year missed a portion of his final season while recovering from a stress fracture in his foot.


How the team was selected

The Star Tribune’s All-Metro teams and Metro Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Chicago WSox - WP: R. Belisario 7 FINAL
Detroit - LP: J. Soria 4
Colorado - LP: P. Hernandez 1 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: J. Arrieta 3
St. Louis - WP: S. Miller 6 FINAL
San Diego - LP: O. Despaigne 2
Philadelphia - WP: A. Bastardo 10 FINAL
Washington - LP: G. Gonzalez 4
LA Angels - WP: H. Santiago 1 FINAL
Baltimore - LP: R. Webb 0
Seattle - WP: J. Beimel 6 FINAL
Cleveland - LP: B. Shaw 5
Cincinnati - WP: J. Cueto 3 FINAL
Miami - LP: T. Koehler 1
Minnesota - LP: C. Thielbar 3 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: Y. Ventura 6
Toronto - WP: A. Sanchez 6 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 5
Pittsburgh - LP: J. Locke 4 FINAL
Arizona - WP: O. Perez 7
Atlanta - LP: J. Teheran 1 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: C. Kershaw 2
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Winnipeg 27 FINAL
Hamilton 26
Toronto 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/7/14 7:30 PM
Edmonton 8/8/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 8/8/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 8/9/14 6:30 PM
Atlanta 85 FINAL
Tulsa 75
Phoenix 67 FINAL
Minnesota 75
New York 74 FINAL
Chicago 87
Indiana 76 FINAL
Seattle 67





question of the day

Poll: Should the Twins replace Ron Gardenhire?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters