Grand Rapids' Avery Peterson is high school's Mr. Hockey; teammate is top goalie

  • Article by: DAVID LA VAQUE , Star Tribune
  • Updated: March 9, 2014 - 8:30 PM

Avery Peterson was named Mr. Hockey, while Hunter Shepard received the Frank Brimsek Award.

For Grand Rapids teammates Avery Peterson and Hunter Shepard, sweeping the state’s highest hockey honors meant letting everyone else in on their joke.

Peterson received the 30th annual Mr. Hockey award, given to the state’s best senior skater, at Sunday’s banquet at the St. Paul RiverCentre. Shepard received the Frank Brimsek Award, given to the state’s top senior goalie. They were the first teammates so recognized in the 19 years both awards have been presented.

“I thought he was going to win the award so I called him, ‘Frank,’ all year,” Peterson said. “It kind of bothered him, but it probably made him stop more pucks than he would have.”

Said Shepard: “He thinks he’s pretty funny. He actually ran my Twitter account for a while because I don’t have an iPhone. After some games he’d go on there and put, ‘Mr. Shutout,’ or something.”

Peterson, a 6-2, 200-pound forward, tallied 37 goals and 67 points in 27 games this season. His 203 career points ranks first for the tradition-rich Grand Rapids program. Peterson, a 2013 sixth-round draft pick of the Wild, will attend Nebraska Omaha.

Shepard boasted a 18-9 record with a 2.64 goals-against average and .918 save percentage.

The awards were presented by the Minnesota Minute Men one day after the conclusion of the state tournaments that crowned Edina as the Class 2A champion and East Grand Forks as the winner of Class 1A.

The other nine Mr. Hockey finalists were forwards Tyler Cline (Blaine), Spencer Naas (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Mitch Slattery (Hill-Murray), Steven Spinner (Eden Prairie) and Zach Yon (Roseau) and defensemen Phil Beaulieu (Duluth East), Tyler Nanne (Edina), Luc Snuggerud (Eden Prairie) and Nick Wolff (Eagan). Elk River’s Mac Berglove was the other Frank Brimsek finalist.

Players are selected by a panel of NHL scouts, USHL scouts, Division I college coaches Division III college coaches and selected media members.

Peterson said adversity earlier in his career made capturing Mr. Hockey so much sweeter. He played one season on the Squirt B team and got cut from a couple of summer teams.

“Those were bumps in the road, so it’s really cool to win Mr. Hockey,” Peterson said. “That’s something you dream about when you’re a kid.”

Peterson posed for pictures alongside Shepard, both clutching glass trophies and donning personalized Wild jerseys.

“I think I was more pumped when he won the award,” Peterson said.

Said Shepard: “It means a lot because without each other it wouldn’t have been the same. He’s so dedicated. I wouldn’t be here without him.”

  • related content

  • Peterson

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Texas - N. Martinez 2:35 PM
Oakland - S. Gray
Boston - B. Workman 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - G. Cole
Toronto - R. Dickey 6:05 PM
NY Yankees - S. Greene
Washington - G. Gonzalez 6:10 PM
Miami - B. Hand
Los Angeles - Z. Greinke 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - T. Wada
Cleveland - D. Salazar 7:10 PM
Houston - S. Feldman
Milwaukee - K. Lohse 7:15 PM
St. Louis - S. Miller
Arizona - V. Nuno 7:40 PM
Colorado - Y. Flande
Philadelphia - K. Kendrick 8:10 PM
San Diego - R. Erlin
Seattle - F. Hernandez 9:05 PM
LA Angels - J. Weaver
Tampa Bay 7:25 PM
San Diego 9/21/14 12:00 PM
Dallas 9/21/14 12:00 PM
St. Louis
Washington 9/21/14 12:00 PM
Houston 9/21/14 12:00 PM
NY Giants
Minnesota 9/21/14 12:00 PM
New Orleans
Tennessee 9/21/14 12:00 PM
Baltimore 9/21/14 12:00 PM
Green Bay 9/21/14 12:00 PM
Indianapolis 9/21/14 12:00 PM
Oakland 9/21/14 12:00 PM
New England
San Francisco 9/21/14 3:05 PM
Denver 9/21/14 3:25 PM
Kansas City 9/21/14 3:25 PM
Pittsburgh 9/21/14 7:30 PM
Chicago 9/22/14 7:30 PM
NY Jets
(5) Auburn 6:30 PM
(20) Kansas State
Connecticut 9/19/14 7:00 PM
So Florida
Old Dominion 9/20/14 11:00 AM
Troy 9/20/14 11:00 AM
(13) Georgia
Georgia Tech 9/20/14 11:00 AM
Virginia Tech
Eastern Mich 9/20/14 11:00 AM
(11) Michigan State
Iowa 9/20/14 11:00 AM
Bowling Green 9/20/14 11:00 AM
(19) Wisconsin
Maryland 9/20/14 11:30 AM
Tulane 9/20/14 11:30 AM
Hawaii 9/20/14 1:00 PM
Marshall 9/20/14 1:00 PM
North Carolina 9/20/14 2:30 PM
East Carolina
Army 9/20/14 2:30 PM
Wake Forest
Virginia 9/20/14 2:30 PM
(21) BYU
(6) Texas A&M 9/20/14 2:30 PM
Rutgers 9/20/14 2:30 PM
Central Mich 9/20/14 2:30 PM
Utah 9/20/14 2:30 PM
Florida 9/20/14 2:30 PM
(3) Alabama
Louisville 9/20/14 2:30 PM
Fla Atlantic 9/20/14 3:00 PM
Indiana 9/20/14 3:00 PM
(18) Missouri
San Jose St 9/20/14 3:00 PM
Texas State 9/20/14 3:00 PM
Massachusetts 9/20/14 3:00 PM
Penn State
Georgia State 9/20/14 5:00 PM
Appalachian St 9/20/14 6:00 PM
Southern Miss
Miss State 9/20/14 6:00 PM
(8) LSU
Northern Ill 9/20/14 6:00 PM
Middle Tennessee 9/20/14 6:00 PM
Utah State 9/20/14 6:00 PM
Arkansas State
Miami-Ohio 9/20/14 6:00 PM
Idaho 9/20/14 6:00 PM
Ohio U
Ball State 9/20/14 6:00 PM
(14) So Carolina 9/20/14 6:30 PM
(4) Oklahoma 9/20/14 6:30 PM
West Virginia
Ga Southern 9/20/14 6:30 PM
South Alabama
UNLV 9/20/14 7:00 PM
(22) Clemson 9/20/14 7:00 PM
(1) Florida State
Miami-Florida 9/20/14 7:00 PM
(24) Nebraska
New Mexico 9/20/14 7:00 PM
New Mexico St
California 9/20/14 9:00 PM
Louisiana 9/20/14 9:30 PM
Boise State
(2) Oregon 9/20/14 9:30 PM
Washington St
San Diego St 9/20/14 9:30 PM
Oregon State
Toronto 9/19/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Edmonton 9/20/14 6:00 PM
Calgary 9/21/14 12:00 PM
Ottawa 9/21/14 3:00 PM
Montreal 9/26/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 9/26/14 9:00 PM
Hamilton 9/27/14 5:30 PM
Brt Columbia 9/27/14 8:30 PM


Golden Gavel by Star Tribune

Countdown to great deals

Bid Sept. 21-29




question of the day

Poll: Will Adrian Peterson ever play for the Vikings again?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters